Sweet Potato Pineapple Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
Made this for Easter. I only used two sweet potatoes, but they were huge, probably more than three regular sweet potatoes. I also used the entire can, 8 oz. (1 cup) of crushed pineapple and thought it was good. Nice sweetness but not overly sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jackie C

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Claridge, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Ooltewah, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2011
Very easy & yummy. I microwaved potatoes and scraped flesh out. 5 stars when topping is added as suggested: 1/2 cup brown sugar, 1/2 cup flour, 1/2 cup melted butter and 3/4 cup pecans. Mix, top and bake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Butler, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Racine, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2011
This is a great recipe! I cheated and used canned sweet potatoes to skip a few steps and it turned out wonderful! I did add a little cinnamon but left out the butter to keep the fat content down. I also took it a step farther and added a strudel topping of oats, brown sugar, flour and a tablespoon of butter. My husband loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
It is good, a little on the bland side. I'm thinking a topping of some kind or some cinnamon would make it a phenomena side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellydancer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Traverse City, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
These were a hit at Thanksgiving. I followed the advice of other reviewers and used a smaller pan. Also, maybe I had small sweet potatoes, but I ended up using 5 instead of 3. Microwaved them instead of boiling. Also, closer to one cup of pineapple. Sprinkled cinnamon on top. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2010
I use a little more pineapple in this recipe and caramelize it in the butter, then dissolve the brown sugar in the butter before blending with the mashed sweet potatoes. Needs less baking time too..has a much deeper, richer pineapple flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
I was really impressed with this recipe. I subbed the butter for a dairy-free buttery spread due to allergies in this house. This was a simple, yet a sweet, satisfying casserole which is a nice change from the heavy syrup-y sweet versions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kari

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Leesburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2010
This was fantastic! I agree that it needs some sort of topping to look really finished (I used flour, brown sugar and margarine), but I'll have to be quick to get a share of the leftovers tomorrow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2010
Excelent!! I really wanted to make something different for my first thanksgiving as a mom with a familyof my own. I topped the sweet potatos with praline topping and it was great. With the left overs my mom made a "pumpkin bread" but subsituted the pumpkin for the sweet potatos and it was amazing. Try it. You'll love it ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2010
This was surprisingly good. I was looking for a recipe that was free of eggs, nuts, wheat, msg, etc... b/c of anaphylactic allergies and this was the ticket. I was skeptical at first but it was better than expected. I also added a little cinamon to it. I will make again next Thanksgiving. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Casserole II

See how to make fluffy sweet potatoes with a crunchy pecan topping.

Chef John's Sweet Potato Casserole

See how to make not-too-sweet sweet potato casserole with a pistachio crust.

How to Fix Burnt Sweet Potato Casserole

Topping burn on your sweet potato casserole? We’ve got just the fix.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States