Sweet Potato Pie from EAGLE BRAND® Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2012
A 40 oz can of "Bruce's Sweet Potatoes" netted me only 24 oz of potato by weight, the rest was water. Since I DOUBLED the recipe I needed a small can also. Btw if you cook much a small digital scale isn't very costly. I use mine often. I warmed potatoes, (minus the water of course from the can) for about 90 seconds in the microwave & mixed room temp butter with mixer until smooth. Then mixed the other ingredients. I made the filing just before bed, refrigerated in covered mixing bowl & baked it in pie shells the next morning. For those asking measurement for pound of potato I would guess its about 2 1/4 cup per pound. Using the can potato makes this a really simple pie anyone can make. Never substitute can milk for condensed milk cuz you will surely miss the sugar. I added 1/4 tea of cream of tarter cuz I just can't leave well enough alone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pamela White

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Moultrie, Georgia, USA
Living In: Ocala, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
YEP! a keeper. I just love pies made with sweetened condensed milk. We are sweet potato pie lovers! the kids kept eating until it was gone that is a 4 star recipe to me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lorna129

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2011
Made this pie for thanksgiving both pies were gone before dessert!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
I had this for Thanksgiving. Too much nutmeg for me, I added some cloves and allspice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ajaderecio
Living In: Upland, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
The recipe closest to Great Grandma's in La. that I can find.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Pearland, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2011
This definitely is a five star recipe. We absolutely love this pie. No changes are necessary--it's perfect as is. With that said, I usually make my own pie crust for this recipe. The Butter Flaky pie crust is my go-to recipe for this pie, which is also on this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2011
Unbelievably wonderful. The only thing I changed was adding 1 tsp. of orange extract as I didn't have any oranges in the house. My husband loved this and so did I. Rich and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debra Reitman Gale

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bayside, New York, USA
Living In: Voorhees, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2011
Ok, this is the best. I just finished making this and am in the process of eating it now. We are a large family and making pies is just not worth the effort seeing as how I would need to make at least 3 just for dessert so, I made it into a custard and doubled the recipe with +1/2 cup brown sugar. Cooked at 350 in a water bath for 40-45 mins in a buttered 3qt baking dish. The family loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
I had never made a sweet potato pie with sweetened condensed milk or orange zest, but I tried this out for Thanksgiving and we really enjoyed it. I doubled the recipe and had enough pie filling for two deep dish pie shells. I'll make it this way from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
Delicious! As a novice baker, I am impressed with how well my pie came out. I can't stop eating it! This is, easily, the best sweet potato pie I've ever had in my life. My edits includes: a touch more nutmeg both for the mise en place, but also to season the water for cooking potatoes (with a pinch of salt); 1/2 t. of allspice; 1/4 t. of cloves; tangerine rind instead of orange; a touch of brown sugar; and an extra splash of vanilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrsjonze

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Eagle Brand® Chocolate Truffles

See how to make these delicious, decadent sweet treats.

Easy Homemade Ice Cream

Cool off with quick-and-easy homemade ice cream—no ice cream maker required!

How to Make Sweet Potato Pie

Watch how to make classic sweet potato pie—it’s far easier than pumpkin.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States