Sweet Potato Pie from EAGLE BRAND® Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
I love this receipt made it last night! Soo good the orange gave it a nice zest. I couldn't find organ he rind so I used orange extract. I had two slices already! Lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by crockpot cooker
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
I added 1/2 cup of flour & did not use any citrus grinds. My 1st pies were great, so they asked for a repeat! The pies were beautiful & delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2013
I added 1/4 cup of bourbon and it was exceptional. Everyone loved it and wanted the recipe. I even had die-hard pumpkin pie guests for thanksgiving dinner and they loved it as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2013
Cooked for my husbands fellow employees. Their opinion was also 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portsmouth, Virginia, USA
Living In: Key Largo, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2013
This recipe is just they way I like it! Not too sweet, fluffy and creamy. It was a hit with my family. Only thing I did different was use orange flavor instead of orange zest. Next time I will only use one egg as I could smell the egg in it with two. Will be using this one from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
This is my go-to sweet potato pie recipe. Just like Granny's. Perfection.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALEASTER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Morehead City, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2012
I have been making sweet potato pie for many years, but I was never satisfied with the result. Sweet potato is the favorite pie of my husband and daughter-in-law. This recipe is the best I have ever used and I made it exactly as stated. It is not too sweet and the spices are great. My husband said it was the best I ever made. This will be my go-to recipe from now on. The orange peel in it was perfect. Don't leave it out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anniston, Alabama, USA
Living In: Arnoldsville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2012
This is a very good pie.I baked my sweet potatoes and started my baking temp at 425 degrees F for 1st 15 minutes and reduce to 350 degrees F for 35 - 40 minutes.Since making this pie several times I now use the pumpkin pie 15 oz. can as a measure or as the pumpkin pie recipe states about 2 cups. Don't leave out the orange.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2012
A 40 oz can of "Bruce's Sweet Potatoes" netted me only 24 oz of potato by weight, the rest was water. Since I DOUBLED the recipe I needed a small can also. Btw if you cook much a small digital scale isn't very costly. I use mine often. I warmed potatoes, (minus the water of course from the can) for about 90 seconds in the microwave & mixed room temp butter with mixer until smooth. Then mixed the other ingredients. I made the filing just before bed, refrigerated in covered mixing bowl & baked it in pie shells the next morning. For those asking measurement for pound of potato I would guess its about 2 1/4 cup per pound. Using the can potato makes this a really simple pie anyone can make. Never substitute can milk for condensed milk cuz you will surely miss the sugar. I added 1/4 tea of cream of tarter cuz I just can't leave well enough alone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pamela White

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Moultrie, Georgia, USA
Living In: Ocala, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
YEP! a keeper. I just love pies made with sweetened condensed milk. We are sweet potato pie lovers! the kids kept eating until it was gone that is a 4 star recipe to me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lorna129

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Eagle Brand® Chocolate Truffles

See how to make these delicious, decadent sweet treats.

Easy Homemade Ice Cream

Cool off with quick-and-easy homemade ice cream—no ice cream maker required!

How to Make Sweet Potato Pie

Watch how to make classic sweet potato pie—it’s far easier than pumpkin.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States