Sweet Potato Pie VIII Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
this is really good, but, i would suggest using a mixer when u mash the yams. otherwise it turns out really chunky.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
I followed the recipe except I cut the sugar 1/4 cup. I am not crazy for the sweetness to this pie. The pie texture is very firm and love how it cooked. Can not test the lemon so do not know if that made a difference. I would make this pie again just need to cut the sugar more so i can taste the potato. Overall goo pie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2009
Now that's what I'm talking about! My mother always told me NEVER forget the lemon! This is the first time I saw lemon included in a sweet potato pie recipe , and I've seen many. She also added just a pinch of salt so it wouldn't taste flat. She also didn't use cream. Instead she used Carnation canned milk. But, I'm sure substituting the cream makes this pie delicious and I'm going to try using that in my Thanksgiving pie. This sounds great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2009
I became in charge of the pie, after my family had their first SW. POT. Pie 4 yrs. ago, and the place I got them went out of business this year! This pie is awesome! My brother said that if I hadn't told him that it didn't come from the same restaurant I had been getting it from, he never would have known! I didn't have the whipping cream, and added a heaping T of flour (for 2 pies--I doubled the recipe) when I saw water pooling in the batter. The lemon juice makes all the difference!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2009
This pie is most excellent! Changes I made were to use a 26 oz. can of sweet potatoes. Since I am not a fan of white sugar I substituted 1/2 cup of splenda and 1/2 cup of brown sugar. I added 1/2 teaspoon of cinammon. I used a deep dish pie shell. I poured the leftover filling in a bread loaf pan. This one is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
i just made this pie. i cannot have sugar so have been trying different recipes and using splenda instead of sugar. this one turned out the best! i think it was a combination of the lemon juice and cool whip (i used organic lemon juice and cool whip free). this was the best! and, no one knew it was a healthier version. woo-hoo!!!!!!! thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANDREA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2008
MY dad liked this pie but he added sum...cheese. 0.0. he ate the middle and filled it with whip cream. it was pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2008
This pie if certainly very good. Not too sweet which I like and the nutmeg is not too strong either. It did make way more than one 9" inch pie but not enough for two and that's the only reason why I only give it 4 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2008
very yummy, but it makes 2 pies, so make sure you have 2 pie crusts!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2008
Once again I've messed around with this recipe right from the start, so I have no idea how it would have come out in it's original form. The inclusion of the 2T lemon juice is worth 4 stars all by itself. Genius! My variation; 1 40oz can of Yams, no butter, a 12 oz can of no-fat evaporated milk instead of milk and whipping cream, 1/2 c brown sugar 1/4 c Splenda instead of white sugar, 1 T cinnamon, 1/2 t mace, 1/2 t nutmeg, 3/4 t cloves, 1 t ginger (or more of any or all of the foregoing, to taste, the desired outcome is a highly spiced gingerbread flavor). This is far, far better than any pumpkin pie although it doesn't have the dense texture for which I was originally looking. Next time I'll double the quantity of yams and add another egg, adjusting the sugar, lemon juice and spices accordingly aiming for a 2-pie yield. If you prefer a fluffier pie seek no further.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by phishgurl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shaftsburg, Michigan, USA
Living In: Idaho City, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Sweet Potato Pie

Watch how to make classic sweet potato pie—it’s far easier than pumpkin.

Sweet Potato Pie I

This is a satisfying Southern dessert that's perfect in fall and winter.

Candied Sweet Potatoes

See how to put the sweet in sweet potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States