Sweet Potato Pie VII Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
Delicious!!!!! No other words to describe it...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
This was very close to the pie my mom makes but she uses evaporated milk. It was a tad too sweet for me so i may cut the sugar down a little the next time I make it which will be Christmas!! It was very good though and nice and creamy. Husband loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
This is one of the best sweet potato pie recipes I've tried. I usually make a spicy pie, but I just added minimal spices to this pie and it was wonderful: just a slight hint of nutmeg and allspice to enhance the delicious sweet potato flavor, which really shines in this pie! I think I'll make my traditional spicy sweet potato pie and this one for Christmas, to figure out which I really like best, but this pie has already become one of my favorites. I substituted evaporated milk for buttermilk, because I don't keep buttermilk on hand, and I replaced the white sugar with 1/8 Cup of molasses, because I prefer to avoid white sugar whenever possible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jackie Barnes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mis7up
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
This pie went QUICK! I made exactly to a T. However, the part of the directions in step 2 that states "mix in spices if desired" really stumped me for a moment. I really didn't want to over spice the mixture nor did I want to add the wrong spice at this point. So I did 2 shakes of Pumpkin Pie spice and 2 shakes of ground cinnamon(can't tell you if that was an offical tsp or not, but that's what I shook in. And my BIL said it was seasoned just beautifully. I'll make this again. And to think I've never made a sweet potato pie before. I have to say, it was my favorite pie that I made for Thanksgiving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mis7up

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burkburnett, Texas, USA
Living In: Cave Junction, Oregon, USA
Photo by honeymama
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
These pies turned out great! I do think the addition of buttermilk was key. I added 1/2 tsp each of cinnamon and nutmeg and used 1/2 c white sugar, 1/2 c brown sugar. Tip: puree the sweet potatoes...makes for smoother pies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by honeymama

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
Excellent! I made this instead of pumpkin pie for Thanksgiving and it turned out great. I made it according to the recipe but used Ideal sugar substitute (diabetic in the family) and added 1/2 tsp of cinnamon and nutmeg. I also baked the potatoes in the oven....left in foil to cool off and the skins literally fell off! Liked that the recipe gave a definitive measurement for the potatoes. This will be a keeper for next year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
Amazing and so easy. I baked the potatoes, and substituted organic sugar - otherwise, everything was the same, and it is gorgeous and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2011
Butter and buttermilk are the key here! This worked out great! I used the left over batter to make mini pies and added them to my pancake batter for a real treat. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by daniellenevans

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
This recipe is fantastic! So proud to share the pie with my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2011
My first time baking AND eating a sweet potato pie. Grated I have nothing to compare it with but this was nonetheless afantastic pie. Creamy and sweet and overall pure bliss !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emmanuelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Paris, Île-De-France, France
Living In: Les Ulis, Île-De-France, France

Displaying results 61-70 (of 142) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Sweet Potato Pie

Watch how to make classic sweet potato pie—it’s far easier than pumpkin.

Sweet Potato Pie I

This is a satisfying Southern dessert that's perfect in fall and winter.

Sweet Potato Cheesecake

This dessert tastes like a combination of cheesecake and sweet potato pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States