Sweet Potato Pie VII Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2009
This was the 1st time I've ever made sweet potato pie from scratch and it came out soooo gooood. Even my husband who was skeptical about me baking loved it. I did add a little ground cinnamon and ground ginger thats why I gave it a 4.I will never buy pie from the store again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2009
Absolutely amazing. So simple and delicious results. The only change I made is to add some mixed spice consisting of cinnamon, nutmeg, and clove and switched out the buttermilk for double cream. Yummm!!! My new favorite pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2009
the pie is great every one loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alexis

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Elmont, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2009
Great easy recipe. thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by oceline

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fremont, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2009
Followed the recipe to a T and it was perfect never had a better sweet potato pie we loved it so much we had to make more the next day to share with our family! (the only note I would make is that it only took just over 45 min to bake not the recommended 70! Watch it carefully and its perfect!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dsatya

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Barrie, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2009
We loved this pie. It has just the right amount of sweetness to it. I added 1/4 cup nutmeg and 1/4 cinnamon. This will be the recipe I make for future sweet potato pies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Cheyenne, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2008
I've been baking more and more and this recipe is now going into my "bag of tricks"! It's delicious if you ask me and I'm sure everyone else will agree when they get a taste tomorrow. Yum! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2008
I've made about eight of these pies now this fall/winter. Everyone loves it. I do add cinnamon and nutmeg to the sugar mixture, as was suggested by the contributor, but pretty much stick to the recipe exactly as written. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by NishaFairy
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
This recipe is great and I love the way my pie turned out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NishaFairy

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA
Living In: Lehigh Acres, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2008
This is my first attempt at making homemade sweet potato pie, and in my opinion, this recipe is great. I did, however, alter it a bit. I baked my potatoes instead of boiling them. I didn't have any buttermilk, so I used evaporated milk instead. I used a half a stick of margarine instead of real butter (I don't like real butter), and instead of 1 c. white sugar, I used 1/2 c. white sugar and 1/2 c. brown sugar. Also, I added 1/2 t. cinnamon, 1/4 t. of each of the following : allspice, ginger, cloves, and nutmeg. It came out great, though it could have been a little bit sweeter, so next time I will up the white sugar 1/4 cup. I doubled the recipe, and got 3 pies out of it, though each one could have been just a little bit fuller (I ran out of batter). Even though they were a tiny bit short, they came out just fine. Thank you for this wonderful recipe! No more store bought pies for me! They do not compare to this....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lafayette, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 132) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Sweet Potato Pie

Watch how to make classic sweet potato pie—it’s far easier than pumpkin.

Sweet Potato Pie I

This is a satisfying Southern dessert that's perfect in fall and winter.

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States