Sweet Potato Pie VII Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2015
Traditional sweet potato pie recipe!! My husband loves it, won't eat the spiced pies, this is his favorite. I used 1/2 brown and white sugar. Buttermilk is a must!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2014
I was brought up in my grandmother's homemade pie but this one of the best I've had since. I added nutmeg and cinnamon
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynncoya Naquin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2014
A friend gave me a bag of white organic yams and I decided to give this recipe a shot. I used half white and half brown sugar and also added cinnamon, ginger, nutmeg and allspice. Its a hit....i will definitely use this as my "go to" recipe for pies. Thanks for the submission
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Autumnsage

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
Great recipe! My husband doesn't like pumpkin, and I liked it better than pumpkin pie. On the trial run, I made 2 pies for his co-workers; they loved it, but I found it too sweet. I adjusted the recipe by using 1/2 c. sugar; 1/4 c. brown; 2TB molasses. Then I added a shot of bourbon and spiced it to my taste. It was amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Camdenton, Missouri, USA
Living In: Hyannis, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
I followed the recipe perfectly but the pie was too sweet (i'd lower sugar to 3/4 of a cup) and was EXTREMELY mushy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2014
Made with 1/4 tsp each or ground cinnamon and ginger. It was truly scrumptious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by katyhen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2014
This was a very good pie, however it was a bit sweet for out tastes even though I reduced the sugar to 3/4. Next time I will at least 1/2 it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2014
Thanks for giving me an outline to make my squash pie. So, I used acorn squash and regular milk because I had no buttermilk. It smells great so we will see. 30 minutes to go!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
Mom and Dan loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2014
I've never had sweet potato pie and this is awesome! I did change the amount of sugar to only 1/2 cup just cause I didn't ant to lose the taste of the sweet potato. This is a keeper Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 143) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Spring Asparagus
Spring Asparagus

The new crop of asparagus is finally here. Enjoy it in hundreds of different ways.

Homemade Waffles
Homemade Waffles

Waffles make Sunday mornings special, but they're great for lunch and dinner, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Sweet Potato Pie

Watch how to make classic sweet potato pie—it’s far easier than pumpkin.

Sweet Potato Pie I

This is a satisfying Southern dessert that's perfect in fall and winter.

Sweet Potato Cheesecake

This dessert tastes like a combination of cheesecake and sweet potato pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States