Sweet Potato Pie IX Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2009
I made a half recipe and it tasted great. I have had better though. I dont approve of all this sugar and I think I should have added another egg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ARCTICAMY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: North Pole, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Skunkee
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2009
Being from GA I had never had a pumpkin pie! It was always Sweet Potato that my family made for the holidays. I had been wanting one for some time now. My husband's family is from KY - Pumpkin was it and I never got SP. So I decided it was time to try to make one like I had as a child. Store bought have way too much spice and just didn't do it for me. This pie was very close to what I remember. Recipe calls for 3 sweet potatoes. Sweet potatoes come in all sizes and shapes. I wish that it had stated how many cups. I ended up with 4 cups of potatoes. I only used 2 cup of sugar and that was plenty, any more and I think it would have been too sweet, as some people have said in their review. I did not have nutmeg, so on one pie I sprinkled a little cinnamon. Both were good with and without it. Other than a little less sugar the only thing that I would change would be to add maybe 1 teaspoon of salt to the mixture, other than that it is a good recipe that I am keeping. Oh, and I started checking it at 45 min.s so I did not burn it. The pies were ready at 50 min.s but ovens cook differently. I start checking though at 45 min.s.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Skunkee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Mcdonough, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2009
This was my first sweet potato pie and we all loved it! Very quick and easy and delicious. I followed other's advice and reduced the sugar. I used about 1 3/4 cup instead of 2 1/2. It was plenty sweet - can't imagine it sweeter. Also added cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2009
OK, please use this recipe. I always follow people suggestions. So I only used 3 eggs and 2 cups of sugar. It still is a little so sweet so next time I will use 1 1/2 cups of sugar. I also added cinnamon. GREAT! I WILL use this for Thanksgiving!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2009
We all loved this pie. The second one I gave to my father in law and wanted to know when he was getting another one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TANIPPS

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2009
First pie ever, turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2009
followed the recipe, except cut the sugar in half as suggested by others. I also did not use a crust ...it was wonderful and both my young kids liked it as well
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2009
I followed the instructions for this and my pie came out perfectly!!!! Just like mom used to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by My Cookbook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hampton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2009
Not very sweet at all. Definitely not like my grandmother use to make. I will definitely look for another sweet potato pie recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2009
Maybe it was the natural sweetness in the sweet potatoes I used, but we found this recipe too sweet. I will try it next time with half the sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Cheyenne, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 120) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Pie I

This is a satisfying Southern dessert that's perfect in fall and winter.

How to Make Sweet Potato Pie

Watch how to make classic sweet potato pie—it’s far easier than pumpkin.

How to Fix Burnt Sweet Potato Casserole

Topping burn on your sweet potato casserole? We’ve got just the fix.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States