Sweet Potato Pie IX Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2009
Had never made sweet potato pie before this recipe.Made it for pot luck at work before thanksgiving and they were a hit!!Now I have people that are requesting that I make them... Thanks for making me look good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2009
Great pie, but I revised the recipe a little. After reading the other reviews I reduced the white sugar to 1 3/4 cups and added 1/4 cup of brown sugar. I used 2 eggs instead of 4 and used condensed milk instead of evaporated. I added cinnamon to taste and also added a splash of lemon flavor. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
Absolutely awesome! Even some who don't normally like sweet potato pie like this recipe. Instead of 2 1/2 cups of white sugar, I used 2 cups of white sugar and 1/2 cup of brown sugar. I also add 1 tsp. of cinammon. I bake for 40 minutes at 350, then turn the oven down to 300, cover the crust with aluminum foil and continue for another 30 minutes. This prevents the crust from getting too dark. I use ready-made graham cracker crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SHEREEB
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2009
My hubby and kids gobbled this pie up.....added cinnamon....but besides that made exactly....I had a piece and must say it was yummy.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHEREEB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oxnard, California, USA
Living In: Greece, New York, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2009
This recipe is awesome! This was my first time making a pie and it turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2009
It was good, a little too sweet though. But over all good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mamagideon

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2009
Can anyone give a tip as to how many cups of sweet potatos to use? Saying 3 is not very descriptive
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RiverMan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2009
This was great. just what i was looking for. baked at stated temp for 35min and finished out at 325. Will be my go to recipe from now on. Loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kitkitty79
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2009
I made a half recipe and it tasted great. I have had better though. I dont approve of all this sugar and I think I should have added another egg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ARCTICAMY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: North Pole, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Skunkee
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2009
Being from GA I had never had a pumpkin pie! It was always Sweet Potato that my family made for the holidays. I had been wanting one for some time now. My husband's family is from KY - Pumpkin was it and I never got SP. So I decided it was time to try to make one like I had as a child. Store bought have way too much spice and just didn't do it for me. This pie was very close to what I remember. Recipe calls for 3 sweet potatoes. Sweet potatoes come in all sizes and shapes. I wish that it had stated how many cups. I ended up with 4 cups of potatoes. I only used 2 cup of sugar and that was plenty, any more and I think it would have been too sweet, as some people have said in their review. I did not have nutmeg, so on one pie I sprinkled a little cinnamon. Both were good with and without it. Other than a little less sugar the only thing that I would change would be to add maybe 1 teaspoon of salt to the mixture, other than that it is a good recipe that I am keeping. Oh, and I started checking it at 45 min.s so I did not burn it. The pies were ready at 50 min.s but ovens cook differently. I start checking though at 45 min.s.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Skunkee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Mcdonough, Georgia, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 118) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Pie I

This is a satisfying Southern dessert that's perfect in fall and winter.

How to Make Sweet Potato Pie

Watch how to make classic sweet potato pie—it’s far easier than pumpkin.

How to Fix Burnt Sweet Potato Casserole

Topping burn on your sweet potato casserole? We’ve got just the fix.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States