Sweet Potato Pie IX Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2009
I had never made a sweet potato pie before. This was a hit at my Thanksgiving Dinner. It was delicious. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ellenwood, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
This was good but I agree that saying three sweet potatoes wasn't an acurate measurement because they vary in size; I also used canned sweet potatoes so it was harder to figure out. I'd say I used about 2 cups.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Traci-in-Cali

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2009
Had never made sweet potato pie before this recipe.Made it for pot luck at work before thanksgiving and they were a hit!!Now I have people that are requesting that I make them... Thanks for making me look good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2009
Great pie, but I revised the recipe a little. After reading the other reviews I reduced the white sugar to 1 3/4 cups and added 1/4 cup of brown sugar. I used 2 eggs instead of 4 and used condensed milk instead of evaporated. I added cinnamon to taste and also added a splash of lemon flavor. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
Absolutely awesome! Even some who don't normally like sweet potato pie like this recipe. Instead of 2 1/2 cups of white sugar, I used 2 cups of white sugar and 1/2 cup of brown sugar. I also add 1 tsp. of cinammon. I bake for 40 minutes at 350, then turn the oven down to 300, cover the crust with aluminum foil and continue for another 30 minutes. This prevents the crust from getting too dark. I use ready-made graham cracker crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SHEREEB
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2009
My hubby and kids gobbled this pie up.....added cinnamon....but besides that made exactly....I had a piece and must say it was yummy.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHEREEB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oxnard, California, USA
Living In: Greece, New York, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2009
This recipe is awesome! This was my first time making a pie and it turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2009
It was good, a little too sweet though. But over all good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mamagideon

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2009
Can anyone give a tip as to how many cups of sweet potatos to use? Saying 3 is not very descriptive
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RiverMan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2009
This was great. just what i was looking for. baked at stated temp for 35min and finished out at 325. Will be my go to recipe from now on. Loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kitkitty79

Displaying results 41-50 (of 120) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Pie I

This is a satisfying Southern dessert that's perfect in fall and winter.

How to Make Sweet Potato Pie

Watch how to make classic sweet potato pie—it’s far easier than pumpkin.

How to Fix Burnt Sweet Potato Casserole

Topping burn on your sweet potato casserole? We’ve got just the fix.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States