Sweet Potato Pie IX Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2009
Not very sweet at all. Definitely not like my grandmother use to make. I will definitely look for another sweet potato pie recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2009
Maybe it was the natural sweetness in the sweet potatoes I used, but we found this recipe too sweet. I will try it next time with half the sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Cheyenne, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2008
Great! I used allspice and cinnamon instead of nutmeg though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pelham, Georgia, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2008
Tastes Great! My husband didn't know it was sweet potato and ate it up! Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JacksHarleyBrat

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2008
All I can say is wow!!! This recipe is very similar to my family's recipe,except there was no need for tweaking. I did add 1 TSP lemon juice for an extra kick. The pie was gone in 10mins!!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2008
My husband loves sweet potatoe pie and this is the BEST one yet try it. Very sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by another great one

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cartersville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2008
My husband does not like sweets and he absolutely loved this pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
I served this recipe for 7 deer hunters this season. They loved it! I did make two pies. One with the exact recipe, and one with half sugar, no vanilla and tablespoon of cinnomon. I prefered less sugar. The hunters ate up both pies before heading to bed to get up early again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oconomowoc, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2008
It was easy to make and my Bfriend from the south said it was the best he ever had. I tweaked it a little. I used 1 yam in place of a sweet potatoe and substitued 1/4 tsp cinnamon and 1/4 tsp allspice for the nutmeg bc that is all I had available. I cut the vanilla to 1 tsp and halved the sugar. Then put a thin layer of chopped candied walnuts on top. Next time I think i will add even a little less sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2008
Had a bit of a menu malfunction the day before Thanksgiving. I had planned to use up an old can of pumpkin, for a pie, and it was ruined. Had a big 29 oz. can of new Bruces Yams for a casserole but most years I get lazy and never make the casserole or get the marshmallows and pecans bit together anyway, opting for a little butter and brown sugar on the naked yams. I decided to forgo my lackluster yams with dinner (all the other stuff would be plenty anyway) and use them for this pie. Never had it until I moved south, but I found I do like SP pie better than pumpkin anyway. (Sorry, lifelong comfort food friend but you’re history.) This made a very full deep dish pie with not enough left for another regular shallow pie. Cook time was fine with the deep pie so watch shallow ones from burning. Beware it is pretty sweet and I used only 1 cup white and ½ cup brown sugar. Hubby loved it that way. I think it’s the first SP pie I ever actually made and didn’t buy from the store. Texture is not as smooth as store bought but flavor is outstandingly homemade.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JUSTCYN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Bay Minette, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 112) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Pie I

This is a satisfying Southern dessert that's perfect in fall and winter.

How to Make Sweet Potato Pie

Watch how to make classic sweet potato pie—it’s far easier than pumpkin.

How to Fix Burnt Sweet Potato Casserole

Topping burn on your sweet potato casserole? We’ve got just the fix.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States