Sweet Potato Pie IX Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2014
I use this recipe and turn it into a gluten free sweet potato pie and it is awesome. I always have left over sweet potato mixture and turn it into a souffle. This is a great and simple recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Smith

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Agilbert
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2014
My family loved this pie! Made 3 pies last night and there is only one left. Following this recipe you can't go wrong!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
Turned out great. Much creamier and not so dry as the previous recipe I tried. I did bake my potatoes and then peeled... I did add a little cinnamon and I added a few more potatoes as the ones I used were not large enough to get the pie filled adequately. My only advice would be to use BIG potatoes or use 2 for 1 if you don't have any large ones.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
Wonderful recipe, I am from the south and was very nervous about fixing this particular pie since my mom has done it for years! It was a big hit and everyone loved it. I love this website, it has changed my attitude towards cooking. If you havent joined you are missing out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Southaven, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2013
I made this pie 3 Thanksgiving ago and I been hooked since. I'll sometimes add 1/2 teaspoon cinnamon. I also in the past have reduced the white sugar to 2 cups instead of 2 1/2 cups. Either way, both recipes modified or not taste delicious! Don't worry on doubling the recipe. This fills 3 pie shells (depending how large sweet potatoes you buy).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aamerrill82

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2013
This was a delicious pie but it does not need all that sugar. Sweet potatos are already sweet. I cut the sugar down to 1/2 cup and it was plenty sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2013
I made this for my first Christmas (just passed) with my new in-laws. My husband had never had sweet potato pie and was hesitant to try it, but once he did he loved it. My new mother and father-in-law each had a piece and they really loved it! I like the fact that it's not as heavy as a pumpkin pie; my mother-in-law had never had it either and said it had a "good flavour". It does make two really full pies and I had filling left over. I saved it to make some tarts with, so there's no waste. (BTW: My dogs LOVE sweet potatos and one was trying to eat the peels as I made these pies! So, I boiled two extra potatos and mashed them with their skins on to feed to the dogs. I give them a spoonful in their kibble. They just inhale it! Another way I've cooked sweet potatos for them is to cut them up and boil them in chicken broth with cut up cabbage. They just go crazy for it!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MIMI6A
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2012
I have been making this recipe for several years. I reduced the sugar to one cup and I substituted the nutmeg for cinnamon. My pie is always a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MIMI6A
Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Living In: Norcross, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
BEST ONE YET!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANDREA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2012
The pie baked well it firmed up when I cut into the pie it didn't run. I added cinnamon 1/2 tsp. The next time I make this pie maybe I use less milk. I served the pie warm with Vanilla Ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 113) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Pie I

This is a satisfying Southern dessert that's perfect in fall and winter.

How to Make Sweet Potato Pie

Watch how to make classic sweet potato pie—it’s far easier than pumpkin.

How to Fix Burnt Sweet Potato Casserole

Topping burn on your sweet potato casserole? We’ve got just the fix.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States