Sweet Potato Pie IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2004
This recipe without the topping mirrors my grandmother's recipe for sweet potato pie. This rich creamy delicious pie sends me back to that kitchen window we used to peer into as kids in Gary, IN while we watched my grandmother set her pies out to air. Wow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2003
Everyone loved this recipe, even my vegetable-hating nephews who swore a "vegetable" pie couldn't taste good. They asked for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2003
My husband doesn't eat my pies...he ate this one. I added 2 egg whites to make it lighter and about 1/3 cup of dark rum. Heavenly
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2003
Wow!!!I love this recipe. My Father-in-law would never eat anything with sweet potatoes in it. He thought they were disgusting. To be nice he tried a little of this pie that I made for Thanksgiving. When we were sacking up Thanksgiving left-overs to take home he asked if he and my Mother-in-law could keep the pie because he really liked it. Ever since, he has requested I make this for pie for special occasions. The only thing I leave out is the orange zest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2000
Excellent pie. Very dessert like and rich. The pecan topping adds a great touch. It was my first sweet potato pie and I was pleasantly surprised at how it turned out. Quite easy to make. Had to bring the leftovers to work so I didn't eat the whole thing. Will make this one a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2004
I made this sweet potato pie last night with our turkey dinner. I feel so foolish, my daughter told me it't a dessert and I usded it as a vegetable, but it was toooooo sweet. I only put a tiny bit of the condensed milk and not much sugar, but it was way too sweet for me. I may make it for my family on Thanksgiving for a different dessert. I was wondering, did any one else use this as a vegetable? Is it only a dessert?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2006
This was my first try making sweet potato pie. I found it to be easy and the pie was delicious. I would recommend it to all. everyone that ate it gave great compliments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2007
this is a YUMMY pie! definitely make sure you only use about 2 cups of potato (ie 1 very large potato) - the one i used nearly filled the (deep dish) crust to the top! the only bad thing about this recipe is that I ate WAY too big of a peice and now am uncomfortably full!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Lewisville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2000
My husband is an avid sweet potato pie lover and he absolutely loved it. I've made it twice so far. I do not use the topping, so I cook it at 350 for 45-50 minutes straight. The condensed milk really works. I put the sweet potatoes in a covered casserole with some water in the microwave for 10 minutes and they've been perfect everytime. I use a fork to poke holes in the sweet potatoes for better cooking. Thanks for the recipe. Real easy too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2007
I used a deep dish ready-made pie crust and it worked on the first attempt at making this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Sweet Potato Pie

Watch how to make classic sweet potato pie—it’s far easier than pumpkin.

Sweet Potato Pie I

This is a satisfying Southern dessert that's perfect in fall and winter.

How to Fix Burnt Sweet Potato Casserole

Topping burn on your sweet potato casserole? We’ve got just the fix.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States