Sweet Potato Pie IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2008
Sorry, this isn't what I was expecting. It was kinda good but too dense for me I'm used to a more airy,fluffy dough. I'll keep looking
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2007
I made it for Thanksgiving, and the sweet potato pie came out excellent. I think I used more than one teaspoon of orange zest. It added a very nice kicked to it! Also instead of dark corn syrup and maple extract that I didn't have, I just used maple syrup. My friends loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hanh

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2007
I tried this recipe today. I altered it a bit. I added one ounce of Southern comfort to the filling and 1/2 ounce of Southern Comfort to the pecan topping. It was delicious. With the caloric value, would recommend chilling the pie and cutting it into finger sized slivers and adding a dollop of whipped cream. This makes it a healthier serving and allows you to have more the next day without blowing your "diet".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2007
I used a deep dish ready-made pie crust and it worked on the first attempt at making this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2007
this is a YUMMY pie! definitely make sure you only use about 2 cups of potato (ie 1 very large potato) - the one i used nearly filled the (deep dish) crust to the top! the only bad thing about this recipe is that I ate WAY too big of a peice and now am uncomfortably full!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Lewisville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2007
This was very good. We doubled the recipe but only had one can of condensed milk and it was plenty sweet. Good texture and good flavor. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2006
This was my first try making sweet potato pie. I found it to be easy and the pie was delicious. I would recommend it to all. everyone that ate it gave great compliments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2004
This recipe without the topping mirrors my grandmother's recipe for sweet potato pie. This rich creamy delicious pie sends me back to that kitchen window we used to peer into as kids in Gary, IN while we watched my grandmother set her pies out to air. Wow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2004
I made this sweet potato pie last night with our turkey dinner. I feel so foolish, my daughter told me it't a dessert and I usded it as a vegetable, but it was toooooo sweet. I only put a tiny bit of the condensed milk and not much sugar, but it was way too sweet for me. I may make it for my family on Thanksgiving for a different dessert. I was wondering, did any one else use this as a vegetable? Is it only a dessert?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2003
Wow!!!I love this recipe. My Father-in-law would never eat anything with sweet potatoes in it. He thought they were disgusting. To be nice he tried a little of this pie that I made for Thanksgiving. When we were sacking up Thanksgiving left-overs to take home he asked if he and my Mother-in-law could keep the pie because he really liked it. Ever since, he has requested I make this for pie for special occasions. The only thing I leave out is the orange zest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Sweet Potato Pie

Watch how to make classic sweet potato pie—it’s far easier than pumpkin.

Sweet Potato Pie I

This is a satisfying Southern dessert that's perfect in fall and winter.

Chef John's Sweet Potato Casserole

See how to make not-too-sweet sweet potato casserole with a pistachio crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States