Sweet Potato Pie III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
Very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2012
This is the recipe I have used always. the only different is ginger
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Jefferson, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2012
Could someone let me know the amount of sweet potatoes needed? The pie sounds amazing and familiar, but six sweet potatoes? The sweet potatoes I have are Xlarge ( about 2 lbs each ). Would 2 cups or 2 lbs be the accurate amount needed? Thanks! Hope to try this pie. Sweet potato pie a fav for Thanksgiving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
Husband wanted sweet potato pie for Christmas so I went with this recipe but tweaked it as follows: 4 big yams (unscaled recipe called for 6 but when we were shopping, we were looking at a different recipe); used nutmeg instead of cinnamon and ground allspice; nixed the salt. The pies were an absolute hit! Sent some to mother in law and she called and said she loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by RicoCabanaBoy
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
I added a handful of chopped pecans to this deelicious Southern recipe Y'all. Never seen pie disappear so fast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RicoCabanaBoy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleves, Ohio, USA
Living In: Key West, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
This was my first time making a sweet potato pie. It was great. I did however make a minor change only because I wanted to. I only used 2 eggs and I added about a half of cup of milk. Great recipe. I will be making it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orangeburg, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
i have always loved sweet potato pies, and not to be corny but when it comes to taste this one takes the cake. I thought this was an excellent recipe only missing one thing... a touch of vanilla. When making this i realized that although delicious that the taste needed a finish to it, and the only thing i could think of to add was just about a teaspoon of vanilla extract. so yet again thank you Nancy for the wondrous recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by the-pi-man

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2011
This is a wonderful recipe. I used a Trader Joe's frozen pie crust which produced a fool proof pie. For those who are unsure about how much sweet potato to use in your recipe, I used six medium organic sweet potatoes which produce 5 1/2 - 6 cups. This recipe is a keeper!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2011
This made two awesome, artery clogging, pies...awarded 5 stars by my neighbor on her 98th birthday and my hubby. But there is one very misleading ingredient here...6 sweet potatoes. 6 of the small thin tubers...or 6 of the huge, almost football size that I buy locally that are still tender to the skin? I quickly realized that 6 would feed half of our small community and dropped it to 4...then could only get three into my large pot. I weighed them and they came to 3 lbs. So 3 lbs. of sweet potatoes is much more accurate. Those pies sure disappeared quickly and deserved every one of those stars!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
Delicious! I followed the recipe ver batem and the pies turned out great! I used Jiffy brand "just-add-water" pie crust mix which is wonderfully flakey. I also did not have allspice in my cupboard so made my own. Here's the recipe if you need it: 2 parts cinnamon, 1 part nutmeg, 1 part ground cloves. Just mix them up in an empty cinnamon shaker. Will be making this again and again! Can't wait for Thanksgiving!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Marietta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Sweet Potato Pie

Watch how to make classic sweet potato pie—it’s far easier than pumpkin.

Sweet Potato Pie I

This is a satisfying Southern dessert that's perfect in fall and winter.

How to Fix Burnt Sweet Potato Casserole

Topping burn on your sweet potato casserole? We’ve got just the fix.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States