Sweet Potato Pie III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2008
I was looking for a simple recipe for sweet potato pie for my husband and when he tried it he said it wasn't good. I noticed when I was making it that it didn't call for sugar but thought, hey maybe it is sweeter than pumpkin which does call for sugar. I was very disappointed when my efforts failed due to a recipe that lacked a little umph.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amacdonald

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2008
Today is Thanksgiving and I made 3 of these pies for my family. My husband and I sampled the pie and we did not like it. We did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TEECHIZER

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2008
This is the recipe we were looking for! It's brilliantly simple, plain everyday food. Such a refreshing change from all the recipes whose overuse of sugar masks the nice flavors of the other ingredients. This pie is not sweet enough to qualify as "dessert" for lots of folks, but for me it's quite sweet enough and is a very nice way to eat sweet potatoes. For those wondering how much fresh sweet potato will yield the 2 cups of mash needed for each pie, we found that baking about 1 1/4 pound of potatoes per pie was about right. Bake in a covered dish with the skins on, let them cool, peel and mash. We made a whole wheat pastry flour and lard crust that makes this pie a yummy earthy meal in itself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2008
going to try this for thanksgiving. thanks for a recipe that is not full of sugar. there are a lot of people that are diebtic. this gives me the chance to make a pie that is not full of sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2007
I think the pie needed sugar. The pie needs help.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2007
Yes I agree I put some sugar in but should have put more and the vanilla might not have hurt it either. It has been a while since I made one and I was a little disappointed that it was not better. Specially when You make it for someone else that really like sweet potato pies.. :-(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2007
i was looking for a pumkin pie recipe and my chef just told me to change the sweet potato to pumkin. i did that, but it was missing sugar. so i added about 1 cup of sugar and about 1 tablespoon vanilla extract. and wha~lah! it was great. you can make the sweet potato by just switching it to sweet potatos.mines was great, but it wasn't sweet potato pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lil' Chef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2006
I will never use a recipe without reading reviews first, after we made this pie, which is only edible because we put LOTS of whipped cream on it...I realized all reviews said same thing, and I agree, this needs sugar and without it it was TERRIBLE
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2006
Either the evaporated milk should be replaced with sweetened condensed milk, or sugar should be added. I used canned sweet potatoes and added about half a cup of sugar. Good that way, especially with a homemade crust. I imagine that sweetened condensed milk with boiled, mashed sweet potatoes would be good too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sneedville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Johnson City, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2005
When I first tried this, it was awful because it was not sweet. I have since modified it and added 1/2 c. sugar and now it's better. Also, to make it even easier, use one big can (29 oz. I believe) of sweet potatoes. It makes about 2 cups mashed. But otherwise an easy recipe to follow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Pie I

This is a satisfying Southern dessert that's perfect in fall and winter.

How to Make Sweet Potato Pie

Watch how to make classic sweet potato pie—it’s far easier than pumpkin.

How to Fix Burnt Sweet Potato Casserole

Topping burn on your sweet potato casserole? We’ve got just the fix.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States