Sweet Potato Pie III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2001
This pie needs sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2001
The recipe was easy, quick and delicious. I have always thought of making sweet potato pie and now I have and my husband (to be) said I was the best (with your help) naturally. Thank you. Helen
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2001
This recipes was really good. It took only 15 minutes to put together after the Sweet Potato's were cooked. I like the recipe because it was easy and very basic then I added my own personal touch of 1 tsp of lemon extra and and a 1/2 cup of Sugar and the pie came out wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2008
This is the recipe we were looking for! It's brilliantly simple, plain everyday food. Such a refreshing change from all the recipes whose overuse of sugar masks the nice flavors of the other ingredients. This pie is not sweet enough to qualify as "dessert" for lots of folks, but for me it's quite sweet enough and is a very nice way to eat sweet potatoes. For those wondering how much fresh sweet potato will yield the 2 cups of mash needed for each pie, we found that baking about 1 1/4 pound of potatoes per pie was about right. Bake in a covered dish with the skins on, let them cool, peel and mash. We made a whole wheat pastry flour and lard crust that makes this pie a yummy earthy meal in itself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
Lisa H. must have forgotten the sugar ingredient, and I can't believe anyone would make this blindly without sugar then rate it poorly. Add 2/3 cups of sugar and 1/3 cup of brown sugar and it is one of the best and easiest sweet potato pie recipes I have ever made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
Quick, easy, delicious. This pie tastes like sweet potatoes, not corn syrup. Some people will find this too much of a contrast to their normal high-fructose diet. I found it perfectly lovely!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
I didn't notice that there was no sugar in this! I used about twice as much spice - accidentally - and leftover mashed sweet potatoes from Thanksgiving dinner. I thought it was wonderful. I used a no-roll pie crust recipe that I found here, too. (didn't have any shortening in the house) I really liked this pie and will make it again. We ate it warm, with vanilla yogurt, for breakfast. This could become our Day-After-Thanksgiving breakfast tradition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
Sometimes the simplest recipes are the best. I have made many a sweet potato pie and this one is going to replace any recipes I have used before. I did add 1/4 cup of brown sugar and 1/4 cup of white sugar. But I plan on trying it with no sugar. And I think the best way to add the sweet potato is to bake it just like you would a regular baked potato with the skin on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FREEPANTHER

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2009
It's funny reading the reviews -- people either hate or love this recipe. I enjoyed it. I did add 1/3 cup sugar bc I was making it for a birthday party and didn't want to disappoint the sweet tooths. Next time I will make it without sugar, though, bc I prefer things a little less sweet when the flavor is so good otherwise. I also used unsweetened rice milk bc there's a dairy allergy in my family, and that probably added a bit of extra sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
I too am surprised anyone would blindly make this without adding sugar, although I'm not convinced that the ommission of sugar by Lisa was an accident. That said, I would never, ever use canned sweet potatoes to make this pie or any pie. Nor would I boil them. I bake mine to maximize the natural sweetness and flavor that sweet potatoes (actually Yams) are famous for. Yes, it's more of a hassle that way but if I was only after convenience then I'd buy a ready-made pie instead of making my own. I added the sugar amounts suggested by diab96 and also added more clove and less nutmeg than the recipe calls for. Not quite a complete swapping of the two amounts but about halfway inbetween that and what the recipe calls for. Sorry, no exact measurements. I tend to wing it and forgot to write down the precise amounts. I also added 2 teaspoons of vanilla extract (real, not the fake stuff).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Pie I

This is a satisfying Southern dessert that's perfect in fall and winter.

How to Make Sweet Potato Pie

Watch how to make classic sweet potato pie—it’s far easier than pumpkin.

How to Fix Burnt Sweet Potato Casserole

Topping burn on your sweet potato casserole? We’ve got just the fix.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States