Sweet Potato Pie III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2001
This recipe has some serious problems. Mashed sweet potatoes - does that mean boil cut-up sweet potatoes or use sweetned from the can. Where's the sugar! I prepared this recipe using actual sweet potatoes and served this pie as my only desert for my Thanksgiving dinner and was disappointed, as well as, my guests. This recipe needs to be removed, corrected or mentioned that it is not an actual dessert before others find error too. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2001
This recipes was really good. It took only 15 minutes to put together after the Sweet Potato's were cooked. I like the recipe because it was easy and very basic then I added my own personal touch of 1 tsp of lemon extra and and a 1/2 cup of Sugar and the pie came out wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2005
When I first tried this, it was awful because it was not sweet. I have since modified it and added 1/2 c. sugar and now it's better. Also, to make it even easier, use one big can (29 oz. I believe) of sweet potatoes. It makes about 2 cups mashed. But otherwise an easy recipe to follow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2006
I will never use a recipe without reading reviews first, after we made this pie, which is only edible because we put LOTS of whipped cream on it...I realized all reviews said same thing, and I agree, this needs sugar and without it it was TERRIBLE
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
Lisa H. must have forgotten the sugar ingredient, and I can't believe anyone would make this blindly without sugar then rate it poorly. Add 2/3 cups of sugar and 1/3 cup of brown sugar and it is one of the best and easiest sweet potato pie recipes I have ever made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2001
This pie needs sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2002
This is no doubt the worst recipe I have ever tried. Where is the sugar? And that may not be all that is wrong with it. I wasted my time and material.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2008
This is the recipe we were looking for! It's brilliantly simple, plain everyday food. Such a refreshing change from all the recipes whose overuse of sugar masks the nice flavors of the other ingredients. This pie is not sweet enough to qualify as "dessert" for lots of folks, but for me it's quite sweet enough and is a very nice way to eat sweet potatoes. For those wondering how much fresh sweet potato will yield the 2 cups of mash needed for each pie, we found that baking about 1 1/4 pound of potatoes per pie was about right. Bake in a covered dish with the skins on, let them cool, peel and mash. We made a whole wheat pastry flour and lard crust that makes this pie a yummy earthy meal in itself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2001
The recipe was easy, quick and delicious. I have always thought of making sweet potato pie and now I have and my husband (to be) said I was the best (with your help) naturally. Thank you. Helen
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2005
HEED WARNING: THIS RECIPE is the WORST RECIPE for anything that I have found on allrecipes.com or any other recipe site. It turned out really dry and salty....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Pie I

This is a satisfying Southern dessert that's perfect in fall and winter.

How to Make Sweet Potato Pie

Watch how to make classic sweet potato pie—it’s far easier than pumpkin.

How to Fix Burnt Sweet Potato Casserole

Topping burn on your sweet potato casserole? We’ve got just the fix.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States