Sweet Potato Pie II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2014
Love this recipe! However I tweaked it just a bit. I use 1/4 cup of Captain Morgan spiced rum. For some reason I always end up with enough filling for two pies. My family and friends love this pie. It's a requested pie every Thanksgiving and Christmas get together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cumberland, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: New Port Richey, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2014
I made this pie after reading the reviews and made the following changes: instead of 2 tablespoons of rum I used 1 tablespoon of rum and one teaspoon of rum extract. I was not satisfied with the taste or the consistency of the filling so I decreased the milk to 1 cup, increased the sugar to 1 cup, added 1/4 cup of brown sugar and eliminated the rum altogether. I really didn't care for the alcohol taste. I substituted 1 teaspoon of vanilla extract and 1/2 teaspoon of rum extract. Turned out good this time. This is going to be my new sweet potato recipe from now on. Thanks to the person who let us know that 2 cups of cooked sweet potato is about 1 1/2 pounds of sweet potatoes. Filled out the pie plate just right. Almost 5 stars with these adjustments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2013
I use brown sugar and add how much I want by taste, if I feel like it isn't sweet enough than I will add a little white sugar
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
Yum. Yum yum yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2012
The pie was great, but the rum can be substituted for Vanilla and/or Lemon extract
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2012
This was easy and fun to make! My family loved it. The pie was gone in two days. Will efinitely need to make this frequently!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2011
Great Outline. I tweaked the recipe to fit what I wanted. I used a butter substitute called Earth Balance, whole wheat pie shells, a cup more of organic sugar, 6 white sweet potatoes (I wanted to make two pies) and just a can of evaporated milk along with the spices. I forgot the rum though. Next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2011
Hands down the best sweet potato pie I have ever made! I was sceptical about using only using 3/8 a cup of sugar, but it was the perfect amount. I only used 1 tbsp of rum but I think 2 would've been fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2010
GREAT. I think the 3/8 cup sugar is an error. It's very odd to see 3/8 cup in a recipe. Anyway, I used 1/4 c light brown sugar and 1/4 cup Splenda and grated fresh nutmeg. Mixed all in blender. Very easy. Everybody LOVED this pie. Even the picky folks. I made it again without the nutmeg and they loved it too. Everyone raved about the perfect consistency and the actual TASTE of sweet potato. OH, I used beautiful, ORGANIC sweet potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
Awesome Awesome!! I had been using the recipe off the pumpkin can and substituting sweet potatoes for years and was scared to try a new recipe, this was better then I ever expected. I used Vanilla instead of rum and was very wonderful!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Mounds View, Minnesota, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Sweet Potato Pie

Watch how to make classic sweet potato pie—it’s far easier than pumpkin.

Sweet Potato Pie I

This is a satisfying Southern dessert that's perfect in fall and winter.

Whipped Sweet Potato Casserole

See how to make a classic Thanksgiving sweet potato casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States