Sweet Potato Pie II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2005
I feel sort of bad giving this review to this recipe because clearly I'm in the minority of those who've submitted a review, but I didn't like this recipe at all! This was the first sweet potato pie that I 've made. I've read that oftentimes sweet potato pie is so much better than regular pumpkin pie, so I was anxious to try a sweet potato pie. I followed the recipe exactly, but my husband and I both didn't like it. Of course, I'm comparing it to pumpkin, and maybe that's wrong (like comparing apples to oranges). I therefore didn't rate this recipe. Unfortunately I ended up throwing the pie out and the recipe. I'll stick to pumpkin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Butler, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2005
This recipe is great! I made it this evening and couldn't let it cool before trying it. This was so quick to assemble with the processor, my three year old helped. I cut back on the sugar since I have gestational diabetes and it was still delicious. Other than that I followed the directions pretty closely, though I added a little more spices to compensate for the reduced sugar. I think I put in about a 1/4 off a cup of brown sugar. I did add a little vanilla, but that just makes sense... This came out really great, it satisfied my craving without making me ill.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Zeigler

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Sierra Vista, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2005
My family LOVES, LOVES this recipe. I get rave reviews each and every time I make it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nokesville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Linden, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2005
Great pie!! Didn't think it looked right going in the oven, but turned out fantastic! Top it off with a pecan and brown sugar mixture during the last 15 minutes of baking and it's good to go.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2005
Although this pie was texturally excellent, no one in my family enjoyed the rum taste. I am going to try it again omitting the rum and adding a bit more sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2004
I tried this recipe and I loved it. I'm just now getting into the world of baking and now I'm glued to the kitchen all day. Thank you guys for this site and the recipes. Oh, my fiance wanted me to thank you also.Smile.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ms. Kim

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2004
very good..had to add a little more rum..but this recipe is great..i highly recommend it..my entire family loved it when i made it for thanksgiving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2004
Absolutely fantastic and it didn't take long to make either. Just the right amount of spices and all the ingredients blended togeter very well. I made this for a "Holiday Pot luck" at work and before the day was over I had a request for the recipe. Thanks for submitting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2004
This recipe is great. I have tried 3 other sweet potato pie recipes and this recipe is perfect. I always take a pie to work over the holidays and everyone agreed this was the best ever. I added a little orange zest because I love sweet potatoes and oranges. Even those who dislike pumpkin pie loved this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Parker, Colorado, USA
Living In: Chandler, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2004
I concur that the amount of sugar listed in the recipe seems too small. I upped the quantity to 2/3 cup of white sugar. Having said that, this is a remarkably easy recipe to fit in to even the time constraints of a full menu, resulting in a pie so delicious that battles ensued as to who will get third helpings. Strongly recommend to cooks of all skill levels.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Sweet Potato Pie

Watch how to make classic sweet potato pie—it’s far easier than pumpkin.

Sweet Potato Pie I

This is a satisfying Southern dessert that's perfect in fall and winter.

Whipped Sweet Potato Casserole

See how to make a classic Thanksgiving sweet potato casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States