Sweet Potato Pie II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
This recipe doesn't need the rum. It's wonderful with out it. I needed 2 pies so by doubling the recipe I had to double the amount of evaporated milk. For that reason I added 1 extra egg to keep everything creamy. This amount of milk calls for extra spices and extra sugar. I used 1 full teaspoon of cinnamon( 2 would be ok if you love cinnamon) Instead of nutmeg(don't care for) I added 1/2 teaspoon of ginger and 1/4 teaspoon cloves. I added 2 teaspoons of vanilla extract. I used 1 1/4 cup of white sugar and 1 cup of light brown sugar. Sounds like lots of sugar but my family & friends who don't like things too sweet said this is my best sweet potato pie yet! So thank you for this original recipe! ( I always use Marie Calendar's pie crust/frozen food isle)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joanne
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2010
This was my first sweet potato pie attempt and I think it turned out yummy! I had enough filling to fill 2 deep dish pre-made crusts. The only thing extra I added was a dash of ginger and a little extra cinnamon because I love cinnamon :) Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by redheadbh

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ollied
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2010
This was great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ollied

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Rosedale, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
I mixed this in my blender, which yeilded a very professional even texture. With that said, this recipe needs something more, it's a tad bland. Next time, I'll add vanilla, more of the spices, and brown sugar since it could have been a bit sweeter, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JULIAGULIA3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2009
This is one of the best recipes I have ever tasted. It does need more sugar though. My in-laws were fighting over my pies and said they haven't had a sweet potato pie this good since my mother-in-law passed away in 2001. Great!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Cedar Hill, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2009
I used 3 sweet potatos, and that made enough for 2 pies. My kids loved this! Even my husband, who doesn't usually like this type of pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2009
I made this one time for Thanksgiving dinner and it turned out so good that now I am responsible for it every year. My husband even requests it over his mother's. Thanks for a wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2009
my family loves this pie. It is very simple to make too. I've even made a few up and froze them for a while then thawed and baked when we wanted a nice treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mel

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2009
This was my first sweet potato pie and my family loved it! It was perfect! This recipe is definitely a keeper. My husband is a great cook and like this recipe exceptionally because it did not include flour. Great texture. This recipe can easily be adjusted to yield more than one pie at a time. Thanks for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Visa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2008
I have to agree with 1 other reviewer. This pie is not even close to my mom’s and honestly that’s not even the point. I knew no one would come close to her recipe, but man this is not even on the same planet. I haven’t put my finger on it yet, but there is something seriously missing in this pie. It doesn’t have enough flavor or spice. Something is missing! I won’t make this again, sorry..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDiva

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 11-20 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Sweet Potato Pie

Watch how to make classic sweet potato pie—it’s far easier than pumpkin.

Sweet Potato Pie I

This is a satisfying Southern dessert that's perfect in fall and winter.

Whipped Sweet Potato Casserole

See how to make a classic Thanksgiving sweet potato casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States