Sweet Potato Pie II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2014
I made this pie after reading the reviews and made the following changes: instead of 2 tablespoons of rum I used 1 tablespoon of rum and one teaspoon of rum extract. I was not satisfied with the taste or the consistency of the filling so I decreased the milk to 1 cup, increased the sugar to 1 cup, added 1/4 cup of brown sugar and eliminated the rum altogether. I really didn't care for the alcohol taste. I substituted 1 teaspoon of vanilla extract and 1/2 teaspoon of rum extract. Turned out good this time. This is going to be my new sweet potato recipe from now on. Thanks to the person who let us know that 2 cups of cooked sweet potato is about 1 1/2 pounds of sweet potatoes. Filled out the pie plate just right. Almost 5 stars with these adjustments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2013
I use brown sugar and add how much I want by taste, if I feel like it isn't sweet enough than I will add a little white sugar
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
Yum. Yum yum yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2012
The pie was great, but the rum can be substituted for Vanilla and/or Lemon extract
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2012
This was easy and fun to make! My family loved it. The pie was gone in two days. Will efinitely need to make this frequently!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2011
Great Outline. I tweaked the recipe to fit what I wanted. I used a butter substitute called Earth Balance, whole wheat pie shells, a cup more of organic sugar, 6 white sweet potatoes (I wanted to make two pies) and just a can of evaporated milk along with the spices. I forgot the rum though. Next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2011
Hands down the best sweet potato pie I have ever made! I was sceptical about using only using 3/8 a cup of sugar, but it was the perfect amount. I only used 1 tbsp of rum but I think 2 would've been fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2010
GREAT. I think the 3/8 cup sugar is an error. It's very odd to see 3/8 cup in a recipe. Anyway, I used 1/4 c light brown sugar and 1/4 cup Splenda and grated fresh nutmeg. Mixed all in blender. Very easy. Everybody LOVED this pie. Even the picky folks. I made it again without the nutmeg and they loved it too. Everyone raved about the perfect consistency and the actual TASTE of sweet potato. OH, I used beautiful, ORGANIC sweet potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
Awesome Awesome!! I had been using the recipe off the pumpkin can and substituting sweet potatoes for years and was scared to try a new recipe, this was better then I ever expected. I used Vanilla instead of rum and was very wonderful!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Mounds View, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
This recipe doesn't need the rum. It's wonderful with out it. I needed 2 pies so by doubling the recipe I had to double the amount of evaporated milk. For that reason I added 1 extra egg to keep everything creamy. This amount of milk calls for extra spices and extra sugar. I used 1 full teaspoon of cinnamon( 2 would be ok if you love cinnamon) Instead of nutmeg(don't care for) I added 1/2 teaspoon of ginger and 1/4 teaspoon cloves. I added 2 teaspoons of vanilla extract. I used 1 1/4 cup of white sugar and 1 cup of light brown sugar. Sounds like lots of sugar but my family & friends who don't like things too sweet said this is my best sweet potato pie yet! So thank you for this original recipe! ( I always use Marie Calendar's pie crust/frozen food isle)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joanne

Displaying results 1-10 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Sweet Potato Pie

Watch how to make classic sweet potato pie—it’s far easier than pumpkin.

Sweet Potato Pie I

This is a satisfying Southern dessert that's perfect in fall and winter.

Whipped Sweet Potato Casserole

See how to make a classic Thanksgiving sweet potato casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States