Sweet Potato Pie II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2007
EXCELLENT! Very easy and tasty! For those of you who claimed that the filling was too "mooshy", try baking the potatoes in the oven and not boiling them. Baking them intensifies the flavor of the potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
360 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2006
I made his recipe for my boyfriend and he absolutely loves it. He is VERY picky when it comes to sweet potato pie (usually only liking his mother's) but he is in love with this one. I made one slight change. I substituted the evaporated milk for eggnog. The eggnog gave it and entirely different twist that was absolutely wonderful. I also let it bake about 10 minutes longer so the center firms up. This recipe is now my standard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
192 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2002
This splendidly spicy, buttery rendition of the Old South Favorite is more historically authentic by using brown sugar and remembering to add GINGER to the spices. Very early American, old fashioned and perfectly delicious. Can also be doubled for two pies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
161 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2007
Recipe is good, but mine is better. Add a half teaspoon of lemon extract and vanilla extract; instead of all evaporated milk, add half evaporated milk and half sweet condensed milk. Will not need to use so much sugar. Prepare in pie crust and freeze until ready to cook. Prepare and keep in the freezer to have year round.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
132 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sandusky, Ohio, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2004
Oh my Gosh! This is the best sweet potato pie I have ever had. I usually spend $8 on one from a bakery and now my family and I love this one. I can't believe how good this is and in such a short time! I used canned yams and half&half because I did not have milk. I also made my own crust(French Pastry Pie Crust on this site, also a winner) and used a spingform pan. My sweet potato recipe search is over! You gotta try this you will love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
91 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by N.NERO

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wrightstown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Yorktown, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2007
I followed the recipe and I didn't really like that much. I found it tasted to much like pumpkin pie. Not quite what I was looking for. The filling was a little chunky and I had to cook it longer then what was recomended and it still came out too mooshy. A good recipe if your looking for something like a pumpkin pie with a little twist though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Timmins, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Cornwall, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2006
This pie tastes great but it's too airy and fell apart even when cold. There is also way too much butter. I made a note to reduce the butter by half next time and to not beat the whites separately. The baking time was a bit short.. needed 15 minutes more baking, but I guess that depends on the type of pie plate you are using.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2005
I have made this sweet potato pie 4 times. Followed the recipe, made no alterations or substitutions and the pies were great. Am no longer making pumpkin pie as this is so much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2007
Very good recipe...nice texture and flavor. I would recommend that the sugar be reduced. The amount in the recipe made the pie much too sweet. I will be making this one for Thanksgiving Day dinner instead of my usual pumpkin. (later) I did make this pie for T-Day dinner. No one could tell the difference between this and pumpkin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ava Flavah!

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by Jill
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2006
I also had to leave my pie in the oven for an extra twenty minutes because it still looked pretty jiggly in the middle. The extra time allowed the top to get a nice golden brown crust on it, and when cooled, it caramelized. It's a tasty pie, and it looks great. If there's anyone who doesn't like the texture of pumpkin but does like the flavor, this would be a great substitute. Everyone at Thanksgiving liked it, but it didn't stand out because we also had pumpkin pie. It would definitely be perfect for when it's the only spiced pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jill

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salinas, California, USA
Living In: Cupertino, California, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 270) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Sweet Potato Pie

Watch how to make classic sweet potato pie—it’s far easier than pumpkin.

Sweet Potato Pie I

This is a satisfying Southern dessert that's perfect in fall and winter.

How to Fix Burnt Sweet Potato Casserole

Topping burn on your sweet potato casserole? We’ve got just the fix.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States