Sweet Potato Pie II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2010
This recipe was excellent and just what I was looking for....no changes necessary! I did have to allow for additional cooking time, but they have been due to the fact that I doubled the recipe and was cooking two pies at once.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2010
My family loved this recipe. My brother said that after tasting this pie only one word came to his mind: SECONDS! This is some good pie and deserves 5 stars not 4 and 1/2
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2010
Yummy! I'm no sweet potato pie expert, but my husband and I enjoyed eating our dessert and getting our veggies at the same time. Mmmmm. I added homemade whipped cream for some extra yum. I used a 7" pie pan - perfect for 2 - and this recipe halved still made enough for two 7" pies. I think that if you're using a 9" pie pan you may want to half the recipe because it makes a LOT of filling!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2010
This is only the second sweet potato pie recipe I've tried, but it was 10x better than the first! The spices were fabulous, to which I added allspice and vanilla, used salt substitute, and decreased the brown sugar by 1/4 cup. I doubled the recipe, but used three jumbo yams, so I ended up w/ THREE pies! Yes, I said THREE! Still not sure exactly how many pies the original recipe actually yields. I baked the yams & pie longer at a lower temp, just watching to make sure the crust didn't burn, which worked fine. Took one to work for 'hump' day & that became the happiest hump day ever! One co-worker said she doesn't like sweets too sweet and this pie was perfect! Another likes his sweets sweet, but still loved it, so I think I might stick to less brown sugar, since sweet sweets lovers can adjust much more easily to less sweet than the opposite. Can't wait to use this one for next family gathering! Thanks for a winner!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2010
This is an excellent pie. Very sweet, but that's the nature of sweet potatoes! Don't cut corners and add the eggs all at once as this ruins the fluffy texture. I will definitely make this pie again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2010
Turned out great! Light, sweet, delicious! Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALLYALL

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2010
tastes like pumpkin pie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2010
Easy recipe to make. And very yummy! Make sure you have a deep dish pie plate this recipe will fill it. I didn't have a deep dish pie plate and the pie ran over during cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Randall

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sunset, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2010
I really enjoyed this recipe. Very sweet. My daughter thought it was dessert!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2009
I have never baked a sweet potato pie in my life. I found this recipe while searching for a good Christmas dessert. It was really easy to make and not time consuming at all. I was VERY surprised when my husband went back to kitchen for a second slice. I will be making this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. BliSs

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Flint, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 273) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Sweet Potato Pie

Watch how to make classic sweet potato pie—it’s far easier than pumpkin.

Sweet Potato Pie I

This is a satisfying Southern dessert that's perfect in fall and winter.

How to Fix Burnt Sweet Potato Casserole

Topping burn on your sweet potato casserole? We’ve got just the fix.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States