Sweet Potato Pie II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2011
Absolutely scrumptious !!! My husband says this is better than any pumpkin pie he ever ate. A new favorite with my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
I replaced the ginger with a fourth as much of ground cloves because ginger = pumpkin pie to me (1/4 teaspoon for two pies, would be 1/8th for one) and halved the sugar. 1 cup of sugar total, 1/2 brown and 1/2 white Doing this allowed me to replace my tried and true, modified and tested over the years, sweet potato pie recipe (lost in a move). Everyone loved it! Note: Folding in the egg whites makes for a fluffier/higher pie which I learned a few years into making these for the holidays. So it's worth the trouble. My only complaint is how long it took to set. Needed 15 extra minutes of baking total. Picture perfect when done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
This was my first time making this type of pie. Very easy and a nice base for you to experiment with. I did omit the white sugar. It was sweet enough using only brown sugar. If you don't separate the eggs, it will have the consistency more like pumpkin pie. I added 1 teaspoon of vanilla, juice of half a lemon and the zest. I only had pumpkin pie spice, so I used a teaspoon instead of separate spices. Also, I usually bake my crust first until golden brown before filling and baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
Best Sweet Potato Pie I've tasted. Quick and easy to make. I would highly recommend it and will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
This is a great recipe! I love that it's so light! My family didn't believe it was a sweet potato pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2011
This is yummy. Be sure that you realize that you must save the egg whites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2011
WONDERFUL!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2011
Delicious! Fluffy and perfect amount of spice. I did not separate eggs, otherwise followed recipe exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2011
a fabulous pie, i chilled my bowl and beater before beating the egg whites, talk about a creamy pie, just like chiffon
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 78lalee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2011
First time ever to make a sweet potato pie - it was easy, tasted good and everyone liked it. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy Wycoff

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Monroe, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 268) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make Sweet Potato Pie

Watch how to make classic sweet potato pie—it’s far easier than pumpkin.

Sweet Potato Pie I

This is a satisfying Southern dessert that's perfect in fall and winter.

How to Fix Burnt Sweet Potato Casserole

Topping burn on your sweet potato casserole? We’ve got just the fix.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States