Sweet Potato Pie II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2008
Very sweet, too sweet. Should have used 1/2 the sugar. I did use brown sugar instead of white.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2008
This was nice and easy. I made it for the first time this Thanksgiving. I ended up using yams instead of sweet potatoes, but I don't think that made a big deal. I also ran out of brown sugar, so I used demera, but I don't think it was a big deal either. Also, I was freestyle with the spices-- I just added unitl I felt they were enough. I included allspice in the mix too. I received compliments, so I'm pleased.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DLS77

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2008
I made this for Thanksgiving, and followed some of the suggestions others posted here. I added a 1/2 tsp. vanilla extract, and cut the sugar to just 1/2 cup brown sugar, and left out the white sugar. I thought it was plenty sweet, but my sister said a little more sugar would have been better. So it really depends on how sweet you like your pies. I don't think sweet potatoes need much sugar. Also, the filling texture was a little too stiff, so next time I will try just adding whole eggs, and not beating the whites. But overall great recipe and I would make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2008
Delicious! A touch too sweet for my tastes, but I admittedly eat less sugar than the average person, so I won't complain. Otherwise a fabulous recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2008
Me and my 4 year old made this because he always says he wants potato pie. I wasn't sure he would like it hes picky but he loved I thought it was great too. It tastes a lot like pumpkin pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2008
LOVED this pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2008
Excellent recipe. Pie is fluffy and smooth. Highly recommend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2008
My husband said it was ok, but I didn't like it and will not make it again. It tastes like potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2008
This recipe is wonderful! My husband doesn't like pumpkin pie, so i thought i'd try this instead and he LOVED it! I followed some of the suggestions of others and didn't separate the eggs and i didn't add the white sugar. I had to cook the pie for an extra 16 minutes (my oven cooks a little cool). I baked the sweetpotatoes and mashed them with the butter (which would have made a lovely side dish all on its own) then added the rest of the ingredients. This is SOOOO good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon Barber

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Spanish Fork, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2008
This was my first sweet potato pie. It was easy to make and absolutely delicious. I doubled the recipe and it turned out very soft but very good. My family hs asked me to retire the pumpkin pie for this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 275) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Sweet Potato Pie

Watch how to make classic sweet potato pie—it’s far easier than pumpkin.

Sweet Potato Pie I

This is a satisfying Southern dessert that's perfect in fall and winter.

Sweet Potato Cheesecake

This dessert tastes like a combination of cheesecake and sweet potato pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States