Sweet Potato Pie II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2008
This recipe is wonderful! My husband doesn't like pumpkin pie, so i thought i'd try this instead and he LOVED it! I followed some of the suggestions of others and didn't separate the eggs and i didn't add the white sugar. I had to cook the pie for an extra 16 minutes (my oven cooks a little cool). I baked the sweetpotatoes and mashed them with the butter (which would have made a lovely side dish all on its own) then added the rest of the ingredients. This is SOOOO good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rihannon Fairdale

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Spanish Fork, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2008
This was my first sweet potato pie. It was easy to make and absolutely delicious. I doubled the recipe and it turned out very soft but very good. My family hs asked me to retire the pumpkin pie for this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2008
Couldn't have been any better! Followed the recipe exactly and it came out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tabitha L.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Augusta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2008
The BEST Sweet Potatoe Pie EVER! Everyone loves it and is now a Family Fav. Thanks for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Antioch, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2008
Excellant! Made mini pies out of this in muffin cups and they turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Misty

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2008
I tried many of the sweet potato pie recipes from this site and from shared family recipes. None can hold a candle to this pie. Sweet Potato Pie II is so rich and creamy, it matches to perfect flavor with the perfect texture... and let's face it, texture is very important for this type of pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2008
so i was ready to love this pie, i made it for dessert with the excellent french pastry recipe from this site, & baked the kumera as suggested by others, but though i like the idea, the flavour was too dense & overpowering for my random, spice & all things potato lovin family. next time i will just boil the kumera before mashing & add less spices to chill it out & let the flavours have room to move..icecream was a good buffer..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by psarahpickle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2008
Delicious! My husband and I love it. I make mine with a graham cracker crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2008
As I love sweet potatoes I was initially just looking for any recipes featuring them when I stumbled upon this pie recipe. What attracted me first to it, was the line about the brother who loved this pie so much he learned to make it. It reminded me so much of my brother who is hardly interested in cooking, only in eating the end product... ;-) So I was very interested the effect the pie would have on my brother when I made it for my family. Well, they all loved it although they had never tried anything like it, as sweet potatoes are not traditionally used in my country, especially not in cakes/pies. I was asked so many times to make it again and again and had to give out the recipe lots of times. Well, the end of the story: It's now my brother's favourite cake/pie and he actually learned to make it (although he still needs a little bit of help - he's getting there). Tanks for a wonderful recipe that has worked every time! (Well, once I added a little bit too much nutmeg for my taste, but nobody seemed to notice...) Note: As a pastry I made Jamie Oliver's Sweet Shortcrust Pastry from his book The Naked Chef. I think it works really well with the filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2008
Absolutely fabulous! Everyone loved it. It's simply the best and now a standard in my home for Thanksgiving and Christmas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gabs

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 267) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Sweet Potato Pie

Watch how to make classic sweet potato pie—it’s far easier than pumpkin.

Sweet Potato Pie I

This is a satisfying Southern dessert that's perfect in fall and winter.

How to Fix Burnt Sweet Potato Casserole

Topping burn on your sweet potato casserole? We’ve got just the fix.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States