Sweet Potato Pie II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2008
Very sweet, too sweet. Should have used 1/2 the sugar. I did use brown sugar instead of white.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2008
This was nice and easy. I made it for the first time this Thanksgiving. I ended up using yams instead of sweet potatoes, but I don't think that made a big deal. I also ran out of brown sugar, so I used demera, but I don't think it was a big deal either. Also, I was freestyle with the spices-- I just added unitl I felt they were enough. I included allspice in the mix too. I received compliments, so I'm pleased.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DLS77

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2008
I made this for Thanksgiving, and followed some of the suggestions others posted here. I added a 1/2 tsp. vanilla extract, and cut the sugar to just 1/2 cup brown sugar, and left out the white sugar. I thought it was plenty sweet, but my sister said a little more sugar would have been better. So it really depends on how sweet you like your pies. I don't think sweet potatoes need much sugar. Also, the filling texture was a little too stiff, so next time I will try just adding whole eggs, and not beating the whites. But overall great recipe and I would make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2008
Delicious! A touch too sweet for my tastes, but I admittedly eat less sugar than the average person, so I won't complain. Otherwise a fabulous recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2008
Me and my 4 year old made this because he always says he wants potato pie. I wasn't sure he would like it hes picky but he loved I thought it was great too. It tastes a lot like pumpkin pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2008
LOVED this pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2008
Excellent recipe. Pie is fluffy and smooth. Highly recommend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2008
My husband said it was ok, but I didn't like it and will not make it again. It tastes like potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2008
This recipe is wonderful! My husband doesn't like pumpkin pie, so i thought i'd try this instead and he LOVED it! I followed some of the suggestions of others and didn't separate the eggs and i didn't add the white sugar. I had to cook the pie for an extra 16 minutes (my oven cooks a little cool). I baked the sweetpotatoes and mashed them with the butter (which would have made a lovely side dish all on its own) then added the rest of the ingredients. This is SOOOO good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon Barber

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Spanish Fork, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2008
This was my first sweet potato pie. It was easy to make and absolutely delicious. I doubled the recipe and it turned out very soft but very good. My family hs asked me to retire the pumpkin pie for this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 275) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Sweet Potato Pie

Watch how to make classic sweet potato pie—it’s far easier than pumpkin.

Sweet Potato Pie I

This is a satisfying Southern dessert that's perfect in fall and winter.

How to Fix Burnt Sweet Potato Casserole

Topping burn on your sweet potato casserole? We’ve got just the fix.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States