Sweet Potato Pie II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2009
The recipe turned out great.....tasting better than my pumpkin pie recipe. I did modify the recipe just a bit....incorporating the eggs all at once instead of beting the egg whites separate (serious time saver) and using sweetened condensed milk instead of the evaporated milk AND sugar. I doubled the recipe tto make two pies and they both came out perfectly fine. I would recommend baking tthe sweet potatoes in the oven for two hours and using a food processor to make the potatoes smooth for a better texture. This recipe even allows for a slight mishap of forgetting to turn the oven temperature down. THANKS FOR THE GREAT RECIPE!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by B Powell

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Killeen, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2009
This pie is wonderful! I didn't have any cinnamon or ginger, so I just added a little extra nutmeg! I will be making this pie again very soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
This was excellent... The only change I made was using Splenda sweetner rather than sugar! Perfect, thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2009
Kyle loves
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2009
This pie was VERY sweet. I doubled it, baked both and put one cooked pie in the freezer, tightly wrapped after cooling. The one we ate warm was spicy and delicious with whipped cream --the one that we defrosted and served cold a week later was even better! I've never frozen a pie before so this was one successful experiment :) I will cut back on the sugar a smidge next time, though, or save this recipe for a "holiday-pie".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marybee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Bridgewater, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2009
very good, every person at the Halloween party enjoyed it much more then three other pies, A matter of fact, mine was finished and gone while other pies were less then half gone. I was told that it was better than the nice pumpkin pie that every one loves, but more taste and better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2009
The taste was pretty good. But, like everyone else said, it was too mooshy. I have also had better sweet potato dishes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lynnshamrock

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2009
Very tasty - great warm! I did have to cook it longer as the middle seemed to stay very soft. It is a sweet dish since cooked sweet potatoes are naturally sweet so I would maybe cut down the white sugar a tad next time. Otherwise, I wouldn't make any changes. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2009
My family & I had never tried a Sweet Potato Pie before! It's become a family favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2009
I added about two teaspoons of vanilla and it came out great. Thank you for sharing this recipe with us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 267) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Sweet Potato Pie

Watch how to make classic sweet potato pie—it’s far easier than pumpkin.

Sweet Potato Pie I

This is a satisfying Southern dessert that's perfect in fall and winter.

How to Fix Burnt Sweet Potato Casserole

Topping burn on your sweet potato casserole? We’ve got just the fix.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States