Sweet Potato Pie II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2014
The only change I made was to add vanilla and lemon flavoring, as one other reviewer suggested. It's so delicious, my picky husband asked me to make it again, after he devoured the first one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2014
I rarely bake pies. When I found this recipe and tried it, it made me look like I knew what I was doing. I have used this recipe twice and the results are wonderful. I do agree roasting the sweet potatoes is the best way to go. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
This is a very good recipe. I've made it several times and have made a few discoveries: 1) bake your sweet potatoes - don't boil them. This makes for a more concentrated flavor. 2) puree them in the food processor - don't just mash them (my family doesn't like the fibrous texture when they're just mashed). 3) reduce the amount of sugar - I used 3/4 cup this last time. 4) Grate your own whole nutmegs, and use fresh ginger rather than the powdered stuff for a spicier kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Roswell, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cathy Cox Eudy
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
This is my recipe and just wanted to make a note if your pies are coming out too mushy then your not whipping egg whites long enough then will have to cook longer..They need to be whipped to a white fluffy cream and they can make a peak....just fold in the rest of mixture don't stir...thank you for all the reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy Cox Eudy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2014
with so many variations of sweet potato pie recipes out there,I'm trying to find a recipe for the perfect pie,that is dense and heavy in the bite that's not lite,too wet and custard-like. I love a pie that tastes wonderful when it's served cold.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheryl Traylor

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2014
I made this pie for my wife and her coworker who makes the best sweet potato pie and she is jealous that is was as good as hers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rodney Kaschner

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2014
I, like GG, make mine the exact same way with the Lemon and Vanilla extracts! Nonetheless, this one was still really delicious and the evaporated milk adds a timeless richness that reminds me of my grandmothers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2014
I used canned sweet potatoes and doubled the recipe to make two pies. I added two tablespoons of lemon juice to the mixture. I cooked it at 400 degrees for 15 minutes and reduced to 350 for 30 minutes and it was not done. I had to add an additional 10 minutes of cooking time. The pie was okay, but the butter was too much and the pie tasted bland. I wouldn't make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2014
Great recipe. I used a tbsp of flour for a firmer texture. The filling is excellent baked inside the mini Graham cracker cups.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
This was delicious! Now to get to the supermarket to get the unbaked pie crust. I have alot of sweet potatoes that need to be put to use. Will also bake this for my daughter when I go to visit her next weekend (she's on medical leave). I will use this recipe again and again.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Castle, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 275) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Sweet Potato Pie

Watch how to make classic sweet potato pie—it’s far easier than pumpkin.

Sweet Potato Pie I

This is a satisfying Southern dessert that's perfect in fall and winter.

How to Fix Burnt Sweet Potato Casserole

Topping burn on your sweet potato casserole? We’ve got just the fix.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States