Sweet Potato Pie II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 18)
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2007
This pie was wonderful. It was my first attempt at sweet potato pie and it was easy and turned out perfect. I made it with 3 large sweet potatos, but kept all the other ingredients the same. It made enough for 2 pies and they were delish! Thank you. This ones going in the recipe box for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2007
EXCELLENT! Very easy and tasty! For those of you who claimed that the filling was too "mooshy", try baking the potatoes in the oven and not boiling them. Baking them intensifies the flavor of the potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
351 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Marilyn
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2007
This is the first time I've made a sweet potato pie. I wanted to see how I'd do on my own without asking my Mom how to do it. It's very, very good. But my Mom's pie still tops it. I was actually trying to make 2 pies, but came up a bit short on mashed potatoes. And although I didn't increase the ingredients to accomodate the extra potatoes, it still tastes great (not too sweet). It's so good I'm going to make it for Thanksgiving this year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marilyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2007
very good recipe that i will have to try for sure
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Glenwood, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Brush, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CariCooks
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2007
This is a delicious pie as it was my first sweet potato pie I've ever made. However it does require a longer time in the oven which is why I gave it fours stars. Also it is very important to FOLD in the pie mixture with the whites/sugar. It makes it fluffy. I Let mine cool and placed it in the fridge to set and served it with whip cream. It has such a nice taste as I am not fond of pumpkin pie. Also, I did use canned sweet potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CariCooks

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2007
This pie is SOO good and very easy to make. This will be my permanant recipe for sweet potato pie from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Newbirth461
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2007
This is absolutely the best sweet potato pie I ever had! My husband usually makes our pies and he's pretty good at it, but this time I thought I'd give it a try and it was a great success! He loves it and so do I. Thanks for a wonderful recipe...I'll definately use it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Newbirth461

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Reidsville, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Newport News, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2007
Maybe I did something wrong, because this recipe has gotten such great reviews, but I really didn't like this sweet potato pie. I followed some reviewer's suggestions and did not separate the whites, but after baking I didn't like the consistency. Too similar to just mashed sweet potato for me. I used boiled sweet potatos which I mashed by hand, next time I try a sweet potato pie recipe I think that I'll blend them instead of mashing. The pie was also way too sweet, it's cloying makes it hard to eat very many bites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clearwater, Florida, USA
Living In: Sarasota, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2007
I absolutely loved this. The only thing I would change is to maybe add some vanilla and definitely use a homemade crust. I used "Easy to Remember Pie Crust" off this site w/ butter instead of crisco.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ashleynicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Provo, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2007
I loved this recipe. It made a nice full pie that was tasty and pretty easy. I plan on baking this for Thanksgiving. It reminded me of a very flavorful pumpkin pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Helena, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Dixon, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 171-180 (of 267) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Sweet Potato Pie

Watch how to make classic sweet potato pie—it’s far easier than pumpkin.

Sweet Potato Pie I

This is a satisfying Southern dessert that's perfect in fall and winter.

How to Fix Burnt Sweet Potato Casserole

Topping burn on your sweet potato casserole? We’ve got just the fix.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States