Sweet Potato Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2014
I'm giving this 4 stars because it was way too sweet. I'd lessen the sugar. Thank you for the recipe, really love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pago Pago, Eastern, American Samoa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2014
I have made this recipe several times over the years for Thanksgiving and everyone loves it. It's not overloaded with spices and is a nice creamy texture. I always substitute reduced fat milk and light butter when I make it though but that doesn't affect quality.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2014
Best pie I've ever had! I had to bake it longer than the suggested 50 minutes as it was quite watery. Will use more sweet potato next time, and substitute half the sugar with brown sugar. I followed other reviewers' advice and used lemon juice, cloves, and ginger, and the flavor was splendid! After it is finished baking, turn off the oven and leave it inside for 15 minutes to get a nice carmelized topping!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2014
Delicious! I used a store bought biscuit shell and peeled the potatoes before boiling and just used the same method as for mashed potatoes. Also used less sugar. Came out beautifully light and creamy. Next time I make this I will use coconut milk or evaporated milk. Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aussie Mitch

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2014
This is the first time I have made my own sweet potato pie and this recipe comes out perfectly. I did use a ready made pie crust but otherwise followed the recipe exactly. Even cooked my own sweet potatoes! This pie was a big hit with my family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2014
I received rave reviews on this pie every time I've made it. Even from ladies who have eaten sweet potato their entire lives. They say it's the best they've had. I used drained canned sweet potatoes instead of fresh and it came out great and was a huge time saver. I used about two cups mashed per pie. I also mixed the potatoes and milk in the blender to get a nice purée.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by laurabarmby

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2014
I only used 1/3 of sugar and it was really sickly sweet..will try again with less
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2014
I made this for the first time for Christmas eve and it was a big hit. It was creamy not gritty at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
First off - am I the only one who didn't know the trick to peeling sweet potatoes is to cook them first?? This recipe would have been worth it for that reason alone! Secondly, no lie, this is the best sweet potato pie I've ever had. Just delicious. I made no changes - the recipe is perfect as written. YUM, and thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cowgirll

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Racine, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
There is no need to look for any other recipe for sweet potato pie. This is tops. I am from the south and from a long line of fabulous cooks and this is the best sweet potato pie recipe I've ever eaten. Use 2 cups of cooked, mashed sweet potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CatStull

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bucklesberry, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 1,562) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Sweet Potato Pie

Watch how to make classic sweet potato pie—it’s far easier than pumpkin.

Sweet Potato Pie I

This is a satisfying Southern dessert that's perfect in fall and winter.

Yummy Sweet Potato Casserole

This sweet potato casserole is sure to become a holiday favorite.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States