Sweet Potato Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
I unfortunately lost our family recipe for sweet potato pie and came across this recipe while trying to find a replacement. This pie is delicious and may even be better than the recipe I lost. I would recommend this recipe as is don't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
I tried sweet potato pie recipes before, but to date, this one is best. I tweeked the recipe in two ways - one, I followed the suggestion of one of the other reviewers and used canned evaporated milk instead of regular milk, and two, I substituted Splenda for the sugar (mother is a diabetic). No discernible taste difference. And Mom loved it. Oh, and I used it as a custard-sort of dessert, spooned it into custard dishes and baked for 32 minutes. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lebanon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2013
This was my first pie ever. This recipe is the best. It was simple, easy to follow and boosted my culinary confidence!! :)I'm turning it in to my professor the day before Thanks Giving... lol.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2013
Best sweet potato pie ever!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2013
I made the recipe as directed and it was great. The recipe indicates it makes 1 (9 inch) pie, but I had enough filling for 2 pies. I ate it warm and it was ok, but it was MUCH better completely cooled the following day. I recommend making it 1 day in advance if you can.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ron B
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
You know this may be even better than pumpkin pie. This is the first time I have made sweet potato pie from scratch. I made the pie crust too. Easy Homemade Pie Crust By: Chef John here at allrecipes.com By the way I used 1/2 cup each of white and brown sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ron B

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Culver City, California, USA
Living In: Clayton, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
the best, bar none! reminds me of my childhood!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
This is my "go to" sweet potato pie! I have always used 4 or 5 small sweet potatoes. One potato would not be enough to make the consistency of the pie be correct.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly Jernigan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2013
I've made this pie three times in two months. Its fantastic!! Only substitution I made was half white and half brown sugar, everything else kept the same. This pie is incredibly EASY and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by zoya

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by VT-Solid
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2013
Just the right amount of nutmeg. My family enjoyed this pie. I used almond milk and brown sugar. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 1,560) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Sweet Potato Pie

Watch how to make classic sweet potato pie—it’s far easier than pumpkin.

Sweet Potato Pie I

This is a satisfying Southern dessert that's perfect in fall and winter.

Yummy Sweet Potato Casserole

This sweet potato casserole is sure to become a holiday favorite.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States