Sweet Potato Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
Love the taste, but I will never boil the potatoes ever again because it adds too much moisture to the pie. I will bake them from this point on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
Perfect Sweet Potatoe Pie!! I first attempted this recipe for our Thanksgiving '12.. Im from Cali, husband from Ga; so you know his taste buds were raised with a "Southern Home Cooking Flavor".. I made 3 of these pies, (as the recipe is), and he loved them! I heard him tell his mother last night "She will make the Sweet Potatoe Pies for Christmas. Almost as good as yours and grandmas.." WooHooo! Wouldn't, and won't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
This pie was a hit at my son's first Nochebuena (his fiancé is Cuban). I played with the recipe a bit. After boiling the potatoes, I removed the skin and placed them (hot) into a potato press. I squeezed gently to remove excess water then squeezed them into the bowl. This removed all strings and fibers. I creamed the sweet potatoes with firm butter. I replaced the milk with evaporated milk. I replaced half of the sugar with dark brown sugar. I added two tablespoons of lemon juice. I separated the eggs and beat the whites to soft peaks and folded them in last. I baked 15 minutes longer. The result was a pie with a chiffon consistency. Delightful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
I made this for thanksgiving this year and OMG everyone love it!. Now it's Christmas and I'm making 6 pies 2 for my house 2 for my mother and 2 for her friend. It's easy and very Gooood! Merry Christmas and enjoy this great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
I followed this recipe except I replaced the potatoes with canned ones and it was a huge success at Thanksgiving! I have a favorite go-to recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
This is the best pie that I have ever tried, and also my 1st to make. My husband, who is not a big sweets guy, had 2 servings, and said it was better than his favorite pumpkin pie. I did add 1tbs of flour to make it thicker,and used 2c of mashed sweet potatoes instead of 1 1lb potato, but other than that, followed the directions to a tee. Thank you, Cougaar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2012
I made a number of changes to this recipe, after trying it the original way. First, I bake my sweet potatoes. The flavor is much more intense. Just prick a few times with a fork and bake at 425 until done. I don't like the taste of nutmeg in my sweet potato pie - it makes it taste like pumpkin pie. I add cinnamon, a little allspice, a little ginger, and a little ground clove. I also use brown sugar and maple syrup instead of white sugar. (We like ours very sweet!). I add a little whipped heavy cream to lighten it up, too. As is, it tastes kind of boring to me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 4callmemommy

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2012
Fab!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AgnusDei

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Auburn, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2012
Made 2 of these for Thanksgiving. Followed the adivce of 1/2 c white and 1/2 c of brown sugar, and adding the flour and lemon juice. My brother who loves sweet potato pie and has tried many different pies, said this was by far the best hes every tasted!! I have tried sweet potatoe pie in the past and didn't care for it, tried this one and LOVED it! Thanks!!! Only downside is I'll have to keep making it for him.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
I made this pie a few times. The first time I added 1/2 Tabelspoon of Nutmeg and Cinnamon instead of 1/2 Teaspoon and it ended up tasting like pumpkin pie. (still good though) the second time I put the right amount of ingredients and brought it to my Church's agape sunday dinner. My husband said it was better than the first and everyone who tried it said it was really good :) I tweaked the recipe just a little by only putting 1/2 cup white sugar and adding 1/2 cup brown sugar :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 1,557) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Sweet Potato Pie

Watch how to make classic sweet potato pie—it’s far easier than pumpkin.

Sweet Potato Pie I

This is a satisfying Southern dessert that's perfect in fall and winter.

Yummy Sweet Potato Casserole

This sweet potato casserole is sure to become a holiday favorite.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States