Sweet Potato Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2013
This is pretty good pie, my old son loved it. I use canned sweet potatoes (drained) as a time saver.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peggi

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
Amazing! Could eat the whole pie myself!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luvz2cook

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2013
After losing my own pie recipe I came across this one. I must say this gives the meaning to less is more. I Changed just a few things. Instead of regular milk I used evaporated milk and I beat my eggs before adding to mixture. I also doubled the recipe to make 2 pies but I only add 1 1/2 cups of sugar. It was perfect and my husband loved it. Also be sure to beat potato mixture well to remove the strings and it makes for a smoother, creamier pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
This is delicous. As a kid, my father had a patient from the south who brought him sweet potato pie every time she had an appointment and I grew to love sweet potato pie. While I have had a few other sweet potato pies over the years, they have all been overly heavy and too rich. This one is perfect and reminds me of the early pies I grew to live. I did have to cook it about 15 minutes longer than the recipe called for though. While many people think this is similiar to pumpkin pie, it has way more flavor while still having a lighter feel, texture and taste. I will surely make this recipe again. Love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
I love this recipe. I did follow another reveiewer's advice by adding 2 tbsp of lemon juice, 2 tbsp of flour, 1/4 clove, and 1/4 ginger. Perfecto!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2013
Best ever if you use brown sugar and white sugar like the other reviewers suggest!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kiwitina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
Excellent! I used 1/2 cup brown sugar and 1/2 cup white sugar. Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
Ive been making this recipe for two years now, and its always a hit with my American in-law family and friends. Its so delicious that when I offer people ice cream with it, most of them refuse it! Per other reviews and personal taste and experience, I made few additions/ modifications: I use 3 medium potatoes, double the spices, I add some clove, 2Tb fresh lemon juice, 1-2 Tb flour (according to how runny the composition is), I reduce the sugar to 1/2 cup and of course I use half brown half cane sugar, I reduce the milk by 1/4 and replace it sometimes with half and half. I bake it at 425 for 10 min, than reduce the temperature to 350 and bake it for 40-45 more min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
First attempt at sweet potato pie at my husband's request, and I followed the recipe as written for huge success!! I did mix the potatoes in a stand mixer and a lot of the "strings" stuck to the paddle so I was able to remove them easily. I will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lansing, Michigan, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2012
This is a keeper! Will make again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 1,560) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Sweet Potato Pie

Watch how to make classic sweet potato pie—it’s far easier than pumpkin.

Sweet Potato Pie I

This is a satisfying Southern dessert that's perfect in fall and winter.

Yummy Sweet Potato Casserole

This sweet potato casserole is sure to become a holiday favorite.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States