Sweet Potato Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2014
Wonderful, I used gluten free crust.....no one could tell the difference!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2014
I substitute heavy cream for the milk. Also skip the cinnamon and use only 1/4 cup brown sugar instead of the 1 cup of sugar the recipe calls for. Turns out wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2014
Almost as good as Mama's! This recipe is almost a good but after tweaking it a little it got as close as I could get it (Mama was renowned for her pie). First I used Mexican vanilla flavor which enhanced the flavor of the potatoes, I also baked the potatoes instead of boiling. This gave the pie better color and a deeper taste. I made two pies so I used 6 medium potatoes and used a stick and a half of butter and increased the cinnamon & nutmeg to a teaspoon and a half. Used a cup and a half of sugar. This gave me enough filling for two deep dish pies...delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2014
Followed one of the reviews adding 1/4tsp of both ground cloves and ginger. Used evaporated milk instead of regular milk, added 1tbsp of flour( since some reviews said it didn't set up) and split the sugar amount with half brown and the other half white. The only problem I had was a 1# sweet Potato is not done in even an hour! I was boiling mine for at least 90 minutes so make sure to allow time. Am sure it would be easier to do smaller potatoes and they would be cooked faster. But in the end... It was an amazing Pie that people loved.. Additional pecans and whipped topping makes it a desert or a side dish! Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2014
I made this recipe for the first time this year my granddaughter loves it and now wants one for Christmas
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2014
Fantastic and so easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2014
I diced the sweet potatoes and microwaved them. The pie was YUMMY and my family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2014
This turned out nicely, and tastes very good. It took another 30 minutes to get done at high altitude: we are 4000 feet above sea level. Next time I will try adding a teaspoon of flour to see if it helps or call The King Arthur Flour Co. for tips. I also sprinkled a little brown sugar on top before baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2014
My mom and I loved it! This is a good recipe to keep
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gloria K Garcia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2014
LOVE this pie! It is easy and my whole family just loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 1,698) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Sweet Potato Pie

Watch how to make classic sweet potato pie—it’s far easier than pumpkin.

Sweet Potato Pie I

This is a satisfying Southern dessert that's perfect in fall and winter.

Yummy Sweet Potato Casserole

This sweet potato casserole is sure to become a holiday favorite.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States