Sweet Potato Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2013
I made this following the recipe exactly. The pie set perfectly, and tasted amazing. I might reduce the sugar to 3/4 next time, because it is sweeeeeet. But that won't stop me from finishing this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2013
I thought this pie was just ok. I had much higher expectations according to the reviews but it was ok nothing offensive and nothing spectacular either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chloe's Mom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2013
Ii doubled this recipe and made two pies. My family loved it and couldn't believe it wasn't pumpkin pie. I had to cover the crusts while baking as they began to brown too quickly. Some home made whipped cream and it was super yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momma-Mangia

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: San Clemente, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2013
This is pretty good pie, my old son loved it. I use canned sweet potatoes (drained) as a time saver.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peggi

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
Amazing! Could eat the whole pie myself!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luvz2cook

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2013
After losing my own pie recipe I came across this one. I must say this gives the meaning to less is more. I Changed just a few things. Instead of regular milk I used evaporated milk and I beat my eggs before adding to mixture. I also doubled the recipe to make 2 pies but I only add 1 1/2 cups of sugar. It was perfect and my husband loved it. Also be sure to beat potato mixture well to remove the strings and it makes for a smoother, creamier pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
This is delicous. As a kid, my father had a patient from the south who brought him sweet potato pie every time she had an appointment and I grew to love sweet potato pie. While I have had a few other sweet potato pies over the years, they have all been overly heavy and too rich. This one is perfect and reminds me of the early pies I grew to live. I did have to cook it about 15 minutes longer than the recipe called for though. While many people think this is similiar to pumpkin pie, it has way more flavor while still having a lighter feel, texture and taste. I will surely make this recipe again. Love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
I love this recipe. I did follow another reveiewer's advice by adding 2 tbsp of lemon juice, 2 tbsp of flour, 1/4 clove, and 1/4 ginger. Perfecto!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2013
Best ever if you use brown sugar and white sugar like the other reviewers suggest!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kiwitina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
Excellent! I used 1/2 cup brown sugar and 1/2 cup white sugar. Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 1,563) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Sweet Potato Pie

Watch how to make classic sweet potato pie—it’s far easier than pumpkin.

Sweet Potato Pie I

This is a satisfying Southern dessert that's perfect in fall and winter.

Yummy Sweet Potato Casserole

This sweet potato casserole is sure to become a holiday favorite.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States