Sweet Potato Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
I really am debating on wether to give this recipe 4 or 5 stars.. I personally thought it was a but too much sugar. But then when an "enemie" of mine was ranting on how she loved, loved, loved it! And absolutely needed the recipe and to see the look on her face after everyone told her I made it..... priceless :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
Best pie I've ever had in my entire life!!! Amazing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
This sweet potato pie recipe never disappoints. One change I made is that I bake the sweet potatoes rather than boil; I prefer the consistency. Remember - use SWEET potatoes, not yams. Finally, have fun with the cinnamon, nutmeg and sugar (I use less sugar) and taste the mix before you bake. If it is good, it is ready for the oven. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
I have used this recipe more than once. Love it. My wife and kids thought that is was a pumpkin pie. I substituted brown sugar for the white sugar one time. That worked well. A tip on baking this pie: The timer is just a starting point. Wait for the entire top of the pie to raise up like a soufflé. Mine took an extra 20 minute. The pie was firm enough to hold a piece in your hand to eat it. My boys like that. No plate, no fork.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
WOW! This was the first time I had ever attempted a sweet potato pie and it was fantastic. It was just what I was looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JennH
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
With the advice of other reviewers, this recipe was outstanding! I had leftover yams from Thanksgiving, so I cooked and mashed them and stored this in a freezer bag. I read somewhere about the stringy-ness of cooked yams and it not being nice in a pie….so once defrosted, I strained the yams and got a very smooth texture to use for this recipe. I also added nonfat sweetened condensed milk instead of regular milk, half brown sugar/ half white sugar. Next time, I will go with all brown sugar. At the end I added about a tablespoon of flour to thicken the recipe and last a dash of ground cloves. Next time I will put a little more cinnamon and more ground cloves. Don’t be afraid to add more spice. Once it hit the 60 minute baking time at the 350C temperature, I monitored it very closely to ensure the center cooked through since I had read others having an issue with the doneness. This added to about another 7-10 minutes. Cooked it, wrapped it up and stored it in the refrigerator. This was better than any bakery or store bought pie ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
I've made this recipe three times now and loved it. I would suggest getting 2 half pound potatoes instead of 1 (1 lb.). The half pounds will cook in the alloted time and make for easier mixing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
Great recipe! I used the suggested altered recipe from SL. Made it for Thanksgiving and got great compliments. They couldn't believe I made the pie - I had to convince them I didn't buy it from a bakery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stephlynnras

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2013
Great recipe. Will cut back on sugar next time. Definitely gonna make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
Prepared as written! Great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 121-130 (of 1,659) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Sweet Potato Pie

Watch how to make classic sweet potato pie—it’s far easier than pumpkin.

Sweet Potato Pie I

This is a satisfying Southern dessert that's perfect in fall and winter.

Yummy Sweet Potato Casserole

This sweet potato casserole is sure to become a holiday favorite.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States