Sweet Potato Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2013
This is so easy to make! My dad loves it, he actually teared up when he tried it because it reminded him of his mother's sweet potato pie (she died before my parents got married 27 years ago). She was the classic southern cook from Alabama. Me and him share it and its usually gone by the end of the week and its time to make another one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2013
I've made all the alterations suggested by SL. It turned out just perfect. Just added chopped walnut over the filling and it was even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2013
This is my first homemade pie, and it is a hit! My sister declares I could sell them - LOL!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2013
5 STARS I USED YAMS IN CAN AND FLOUR AS SUGGESTED !!!!!!!!!! FIRST PIE I EVER MADE!!!!!!!!!! AWSOME!!!!!!! THANK YOU ALL FOR THE WONDERFUL SUGGESTIONS!!!!!! MY BOYFRIEND ATE THE WHOLE PIE AND WANTED MORE!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2013
This recipe is to die for ... I made two and my family devoured them in one night!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Evanston, Wyoming, USA
Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2013
This pie was fabulous! Though I have to say I had never had sweet potato pie before, so I had nothing to compare to. I can't imagine how much better it could have been, though. I did make a few substitutions, though: 1) used two large potatoes, instead of one, 2) used non-dairy "butter", 3) used almond milk, 4) used agave syrup in place of sugar, 5) and added ground cloves and ginger like another reviewer did. My taste buds were in heaven...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2013
delicious! even my picky husband loved it. For those saying it was runny, try mixing in a bit of cornstarch before baking - I always do it just in case
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2013
Outstanding! Tied with pumpkin pie as my son's favorite. My Alabama hubby was very impressed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2013
I made this recipe with the following tweaks: I used 2 lbs of sweet potato and I tossed them into the oven to bake instead of boiling. While it was in the oven, I made my pie crust. Also, I added a pinch of ground cloves to the mix and because I don't have a mixer, I just dumped it into the blender and flayed it a bit in there....poured right into the pie crust and into the already hot oven (from baking the sweet potatoes.) It was AMAZING! Even my 16 yr old daughter with Autism who has severe food texture/smell issues ate it and LOVED it! We will DEFINITELY be making this pie again and again! Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by UMKATIBA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Al-Iskandariyah, Egypt

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2013
This pie was good but not GREAT! I have had a great sweet potato pie before so I am on the hunt for something like that. I cooked this pie an additional 20 mins and it was still not super firm like pumpkin but firm enough to cut. This pie didn't wow at all, but wasn't bad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Anaheim, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 1,557) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Sweet Potato Pie

Watch how to make classic sweet potato pie—it’s far easier than pumpkin.

Sweet Potato Pie I

This is a satisfying Southern dessert that's perfect in fall and winter.

Yummy Sweet Potato Casserole

This sweet potato casserole is sure to become a holiday favorite.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States