Sweet Potato Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by MMMICHELLE
Reviewed: May 28, 2015
Reminiscent of a pumpkin pie, this sweet treat packs a nutritious punch with lots of sweet potato! It is easy to make and my whole family enjoyed it. Thanks! I will def make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Valerie Leverett
Reviewed: May 21, 2015
I haven't made a sweet potato pie in a long time and this recipe has just become my favorite way to make them from now on! I took the advice of others and used half white sugar half brown sugar, half & half instead of milk, and 2 tsps of fresh lemon juice. AMAZING!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Valerie Leverett

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Joliet, Illinois, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2015
very good recipe but instead of boiling my potatoes I bake them to preserve the natural sweetness that is lost when you boil them
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2015
Received wonderful compliments
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jody Brown Leslie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2015
Great recipe! Instead of butter I put coconut oil which gave a more flavorful taste. I also ever out some ground pumpkin spice which gave it a more autumn feel. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Homer, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2015
I doubled this recipe because my pie pan looked bigger than 9 inches, and it was the perfect amount of filling. I switch from white sugar brown sugar instead, added a full tablespoon of vanilla extract, a tablespoon of pumpkin pie spice in place of the other spices, and I omitted the butter. After the potatoes cooked I mix them with the eggs, milk, and other ingredients to finish them off in the blender so the texture had a perfectly smooth consistency instead of trying to use my mixing machine and risk having filling fly everywhere and not getting all the chunks from the potatoes out. The taste was fantastic. I bake it for about 50 minutes on 350°, and the filling set perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shawn Smallwood

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2015
IF YOUR PIE FILLING IS WATERY TRY THIS----I love this recipe, but the mix kept coming out watery! I googled it, and stopped boiling the potatoes. I roasted them for one hour, peeled off the skin, broke them up into chunks and threw em in a blender with the 1/2 c milk the recipe calls for. The mix was very smooth, and I added it to a mixing bowl with the rest of the ingredients (only because my blender isn't big enough or everything would have gone in the blender). I baked the pie for about an hour and ten minutes. It came out perfect. If you like your pie a little sweeter, add an additional 1/2 c sugar. My husband likes it sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sandra Day
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2015
I love this recipe because it simple. But I changed a few things because that's what I do with my pumpkin pies from scratch. I had about a half a cup of finally shaved coconut and I add a cup of low fat canned coconut milk. I changed it to half of the amount of butter as well. The coconut shavings thicken it up a little bit and gives it better texture and flavor. I baked mine at 1 hour and 45 mins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandra Day

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2015
This came out so amazing! Used Vanilla almond milk instead of milk to make it non-dairy. Thank You!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rochel Urszuy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2015
This recipe is so easy but so delicious! You can really taste the sweet potatoes. Makes the house smell wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dede Karafotias

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,696) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Sweet Potato Pie

Watch how to make classic sweet potato pie—it’s far easier than pumpkin.

Sweet Potato Pie I

This is a satisfying Southern dessert that's perfect in fall and winter.

Yummy Sweet Potato Casserole

This sweet potato casserole is sure to become a holiday favorite.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States