Sweet Potato Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Dawn
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2011
Giving this recipe 4 stars because it was good but not great. The tomato soup does give this pie a different taste, not bad, just different.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dawn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winter Haven, Florida, USA
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by mauigirl
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2011
Did not tell my guests what the secret ingredient was. They did not seem to enjoy it either. Not a pleasing flavor. Will return to my traditional recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mauigirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA
Living In: Lahaina, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2011
Sorry to say I didn't like the taste. There was a heavy aftertaste tha obscured the sweet potato flavor. Not a success
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Breena Clarke
Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2011
Very tasty and got rave reviews from all who tried it! The previous reviewer who mentioned using 1 1/2 cups of mashed sweet potatoes was right and that was a super helpful tip! For those of you who may be lazy like me and want to use canned sweet potatoes, that's just about 1 large can (1 lb 13 oz). I decided to make mini-pies using muffin tins and I used this recipe for the filling. There's enough filling for about 18 muffin tin pies, which takes about 2 pie crusts. Cook time for the muffin tin pies was 35 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BGail
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
This sweet potato pie is absolutely delicious. Curiosity made me try it because I would never have imagined baking a sweet potato pie with tomato soup in it. I plan to make it again and again. My family and invited guest loved it also. It was fun having them try to pick out the "unlikely" ingredient also. Again, this is a great sweet potato pie with wonderful texture and the right amount of sweetness that I think most people will enjoy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2010
Excellent recipe! Like others, I of course had to try the tomato soup. I was a little iffy when I started mixing the soup and egg mixture together, but do not fear! It turns out great. I added 1/4 cup of butter in with my mashed potatoes and used a graham cracker crust instead of a traditional pie crust, as I prefer graham cracker. Great for a non-crust lover. For those of you wondering how much mashed sweet potato you need, it's 1 1/2 cups per pie. 3 large potatoes is very vague and I ended up having to double my recipe and make three pies out of it. 1 hour is a perfect cook time for my oven. 5 stars! Will definitely be trying this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2010
I tried this just because of the tomato soup. It turned out well, with that darker "crust" or film on top and the custard ligher on the inside just like my grandma's pies at Thanksgiving. I've never been able to get any sweet potato or pumpkin pie to do that before. Like most custard pies of this type, it takes about 1/2 hour longer to cook than what the recipe states, but I expected that. The tomato soup slightly tempers the sweetness of this pie (though don't get me wrong, it's still very sweet!) and nobody would ever guess that tomato soup is the secret ingredient. This is my second favorite sweet potato pie recipe. It has good flavor and the texture is perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2009
When I noticed what was in this recipe, I had to try it. My family was hesitant as well, but this has been the best sweet potato pie I've had yet. Curiosity has paid off! :) enjoy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Fix Burnt Sweet Potato Casserole

Topping burn on your sweet potato casserole? We’ve got just the fix.

How to Fix Cracked Pie

Cracks in the pie? It’s no crisis. We’ve got great ideas for simple fixes.

How to Fix Burnt Pie Crust

Burnt pie crust? No problem. With these ingenious tricks, it’s an easy fix.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States