Sweet Potato Pecan Waffles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2002
These were pretty darn good. Next time I'll probably leave out the butter that it calls for at the end though. I didn't think it needed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2006
I loved these waffles! The flavors were not too sweet, and the nuts added a wonderful texture. Try it with whole wheat flour! I was able to substitute with no problems!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2003
This recipe was excellent even though I had to revamp it to be low fat for my husband's diet. I used EggBeaters to replace the eggs, non-fat milk, canola oil rather than butter, and no nuts. I did use pumpkin (since I had lots on hand), fresh nutmeg and added a bit of cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Annapolis, Maryland, USA
Living In: Bowie, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2003
This recipe is great, and it was reasonably quick to make. The waffles came out fluffy and delicious. This is my favorite waffle recipe, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2004
Excellent tasting waffles. My hubby and I stood at the double waffle iron with our forks poised in the air, awaiting the next batch to finish cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Galena Park, Texas, USA
Living In: Lott, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2004
The pancakes were great. I used pumkin and my family enjoyed them. Next time I'll add Cool Whip on top and see how my Grandchildren like them. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2005
This is wonderful! I used regular flour instead of cake; fresh sweet potatoes that I boiled and mashed; and usually left out the pecans because I never would have them in the house. Topped with powder sugar!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2006
I really like this waffle recipe. The waffles taste like dessert and they are healthy, good combination.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2007
These were great! I used half whole wheat flour, less nutmeg (maybe 1/4 tsp), and at least 1/2 tsp of cinnamon. I love the consistency (heavier and denser than regular waffles), and although they're not crisp when they first come off of the waffle iron, they crisp nicely when re-warmed later in the toaster oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by annanthony

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2008
This is a really awesome waffle! We both loved it and husband thought it was good enough to be a dessert. I did make some mods: I cut the recipe to 4 servings, Used a fresh sweet potato, Used whole wheat pastry flour, Used yogurt instead of milk, Added some vanilla to the egg/yogurt mix, Before adding the egg whites I stirred in soy milk, 3 TBS. one at a time until it was the consistency I was looking for. I knew it was going to be thicker with the whole wheat pastry flour so I saved this step to near the end rather than trying to compensate for it at the beginning. This was a lot of time, work and used up a lot of dishes, LOL, but was really, really delicious! Definitely worth the effort. Thank you for a great treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Potato Waffles

See how to make this genius savory recipe for waffles.

Julie's Sweet Potato Casserole

See how to make a sweet and savory sweet potato casserole.

Sweet Potato and Coconut Bread

Sweet and dense bread that's more like dessert and uses leftover sweet potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States