Sweet Potato Pecan Waffles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 22, 2010
This was a good basic recipe, however it did require some tweaking. I used 1 1/2 c of sweet potatoes and doubled almost everything else. I substituted whole wheat flour, olive oil instead of butter, 1/2 tsp pumpkin pie spice, 1/4 tsp nutmeg, 2 tbsp baking powder, 1/4 c brown sugar, and 1 tbsp of vanilla flavoring. I didn't add the pecans to the batter. I toasted them and added to warm syrup. I do think that separating the eggs makes enough of a difference in taste and texture to go through the trouble. I made them to have with fried chicken and everyone raved about how delicious they were. The waffled won't get extremely crisp in the waffle iron, but if you toss them in the oven for a couple of minutes they will crisp up just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mansfield, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2006
I loved these waffles! The flavors were not too sweet, and the nuts added a wonderful texture. Try it with whole wheat flour! I was able to substitute with no problems!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2003
This recipe was excellent even though I had to revamp it to be low fat for my husband's diet. I used EggBeaters to replace the eggs, non-fat milk, canola oil rather than butter, and no nuts. I did use pumpkin (since I had lots on hand), fresh nutmeg and added a bit of cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Annapolis, Maryland, USA
Living In: Laurel, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2010
I substituted half whole wheat flour and half ap flour, plus added sugar to taste since I used fresh sweet potatoes; also next time will add pumpkin pie spice instead of nutmeg. Good taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2006
This recipe is *almost* delicious. At the time of this writing, the ingredients call for 1 TB baking powder and 1 teaspoon nutmeg. In our opinion this was too much of both. Would suggest halving the nutmeg and reducing the baking powder. We also added brown sugar and lemon juice to try and soften the aftertaste of baking soda. And we used whole wheat flower. With these modifications, it was tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2010
I love these waffles, as did my 20 month old son. My hubby is a fan of plain pancakes (no fruit or nuts), so he would probably rate them a little lower. I used whole wheat flour, 2 tsp of baking powder (instead of 1 tbsp), added a tablespoon of brown sugar in addition to the white sugar, and 1/2 a tsp each of nutmeg and cinnamon instead of 1 tsp nutmeg. I didn't quite get my egg whites into stiff peaks, but I'm not sure how that affects the end product. The waffles weren't crispy, but tasted delicious and were very filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: London, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2010
Just made these and they were delicious. Used whole wheat flour and Cinnamon instead of nutmeg, but followed the directions to a T otherwise. They were a very soft and moist waffle, not crispy. Served with maple syrup and whipped cream, and it was reminiscent of pumpkin pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by franybanany
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2009
Any recipe that gets my picky 3 and 5 yr. olds to eat sweet potatoes gets a thumbs up from me! They loved it, and so did I. I had leftover sweet potatoes from Thanksgiving, and it was a great way to use it up. I did substitute half whole wheat and half cinnamon for the nutmeg, as others suggested. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Daphne, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by veryapparent
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2009
This is a great way to use up a can of sweet potato puree without making a pie. I used all-purpose flour instead of cake flour, walnuts instead of pecans, a little bit less baking powder, salt, sugar, and nutmeg, and omitted the butter. The waffles did not come out crispy, but not soggy either. I will definitely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2002
These were pretty darn good. Next time I'll probably leave out the butter that it calls for at the end though. I didn't think it needed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Casserole II

See how to make fluffy sweet potatoes with a crunchy pecan topping.

Julie's Sweet Potato Casserole

See how to make a sweet and savory sweet potato casserole.

Chef John's Sweet Potato Casserole

See how to make not-too-sweet sweet potato casserole with a pistachio crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States