Sweet Potato Pecan Waffles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by jennrobs6
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2013
I thought this was perfect. My kids who hate sweet potato asked for seconds. Next time I will double the recipe for sure. Thanks for shareing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jennrobs6

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2011
Delish! I just prepared these waffles and the family and I loved them. I happened upon the recipe when I realized I was out of Bisquick. I did alter the recipe slightly: Rather than using canned sweet potatoes (because I didn't have any in the pantry), I threw two fresh ones in the microwave and cooked them on the baked potatoe setting before I mashed them. Additionally, I replaced the nutmeg for 2 teaspoons of pumpkin pie (chinese 5)spice. What a pop of flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Deb C
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
This is a nice change from our usual waffles. The nutmeg was a little too much for us but other than that we thought it was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2010
I love these waffles, as did my 20 month old son. My hubby is a fan of plain pancakes (no fruit or nuts), so he would probably rate them a little lower. I used whole wheat flour, 2 tsp of baking powder (instead of 1 tbsp), added a tablespoon of brown sugar in addition to the white sugar, and 1/2 a tsp each of nutmeg and cinnamon instead of 1 tsp nutmeg. I didn't quite get my egg whites into stiff peaks, but I'm not sure how that affects the end product. The waffles weren't crispy, but tasted delicious and were very filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: London, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2010
Just made these and they were delicious. Used whole wheat flour and Cinnamon instead of nutmeg, but followed the directions to a T otherwise. They were a very soft and moist waffle, not crispy. Served with maple syrup and whipped cream, and it was reminiscent of pumpkin pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by franybanany
Reviewed: May 22, 2010
This was a good basic recipe, however it did require some tweaking. I used 1 1/2 c of sweet potatoes and doubled almost everything else. I substituted whole wheat flour, olive oil instead of butter, 1/2 tsp pumpkin pie spice, 1/4 tsp nutmeg, 2 tbsp baking powder, 1/4 c brown sugar, and 1 tbsp of vanilla flavoring. I didn't add the pecans to the batter. I toasted them and added to warm syrup. I do think that separating the eggs makes enough of a difference in taste and texture to go through the trouble. I made them to have with fried chicken and everyone raved about how delicious they were. The waffled won't get extremely crisp in the waffle iron, but if you toss them in the oven for a couple of minutes they will crisp up just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mansfield, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2010
I substituted half whole wheat flour and half ap flour, plus added sugar to taste since I used fresh sweet potatoes; also next time will add pumpkin pie spice instead of nutmeg. Good taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2009
Any recipe that gets my picky 3 and 5 yr. olds to eat sweet potatoes gets a thumbs up from me! They loved it, and so did I. I had leftover sweet potatoes from Thanksgiving, and it was a great way to use it up. I did substitute half whole wheat and half cinnamon for the nutmeg, as others suggested. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Daphne, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2009
These were good, but I do not think that I will be making them again. The batter is a bit more watery than your typical waffle batter, so be sure to cook them longer than usual.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kalnems

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arlington, Virginia, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: May 31, 2009
I had a potato to use up so baked it and followed recipe, except walnuts instead of pecans. tend to be on the softer side
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hinton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Casserole II

See how to make fluffy sweet potatoes with a crunchy pecan topping.

Chef John's Sweet Potato Casserole

See how to make not-too-sweet sweet potato casserole with a pistachio crust.

How to Fix Burnt Sweet Potato Casserole

Topping burn on your sweet potato casserole? We’ve got just the fix.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States