Sweet Potato Pecan Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
I made this for Thanksgiving and chose not to tell anyone it was sweet potatoes until after they ate it everyone loved it they thought it was pumkin had they known it was sweet potatoe they would not of tried it. Now I should have no problems getting my kids to eat sweet potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stacy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hicksville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
awesome a classic in our family now
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
This has become THE Thanksgiving dinner pie in my family. I have made it for 3 years in a row now. I suggested not making it this year, and everyone howled in protest - so I'll be making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2010
The filling is custardy and delicious, but way too sweet. I'm going to cut down the sugar in the filling and the pecan topping by a third. Also, I bought deep dish pie crusts but had a lot left over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2010
Soooooooooo good! Can't wait to make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by REDHOTRS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fleetwood, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Reading, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2010
This was so good, I will definitely be making this again. My husband who is a pumpkin pie fanatic was not excited about the idea of sweet potato pie, but once he tasted it he was in love!!! I used walnuts instead of pecans (what I had on hand) and also used heavy whipping cream (what I had on hand), but followed the recipe otherwise...a definite keeper! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2010
Wonderful recipe! I managed to make yam/sweet potato lovers our of my in laws! Many took it because they thought it was pecan pie. SURPRISE! they loved it. The flavor is to die for! As a matter of fact, someone 'stole' what few leftovers I had in the fridge ;) One tipe for a newer baker like myself... broil the pecans, brown sugar, and butter on LOW - not hight. Burnt the first batch. Thanksfully I had back up! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2009
I loved the topping to this pie The pie wasn't sweet enough for me BUT the topping is the best yet
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2009
I have made MANY recipes from this site, and this is the first one I am reviewing because it was so incredibly FABULOUS! You will never be able to eat Pumpkin Pie again. I never imagined it would be so good...I usually make 8 - 14 pies for our family Holiday get-togethers and this is at the top of the list now. This is my first sweet potato pie, and I'll never look back! My mom said it's her new fav and g-pa who doesn't like pumpkin pie or pecan pie said its his new fav (after lemon meringue which can't be beat) I used 3 eggs and milk instead of cream and allspice instead of cloves and it turned out so perfect that I'll never make it any other way! I also boiled the SP instead of baked and used a handmixer to get them smooth - let them cool before you add eggs. YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2009
I made this for Thanksgiving and again at Christmas. My only warning is that you need a really big pie crust to use both fillings. This made two of the standard store-bought pie crusts. I also made whipped cream sweetened with maple syrup for it, which people liked a lot. And my father, a pie lover, was in heaven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Missoula, Montana, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Pie I

This is a satisfying Southern dessert that's perfect in fall and winter.

How to Make Sweet Potato Pie

Watch how to make classic sweet potato pie—it’s far easier than pumpkin.

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States