Sweet Potato Pecan Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by tvan
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2013
This pie was just ok. It was better out of the fridge on the second day but I think I'll just stick to regular sweet potato pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tvan

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2013
I think that this may be the best version of Sweet Potato Pie that I have ever eaten, let alone tried to make myself. I substituted the white sugar for brown because that is my preference. I also hand mashed the potatoes because I like the texture better than a pureed version. Even so, it was much better than I could have expected. I will definitely make this over and over again...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2012
Excellent pie! Good combination of textures and with a few changes, not too sweet. Love the crunchy topping!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sandy76
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
Simply delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2011
This pie is really really good. I did make a couple of adjustments, though. I used 1.5 cups buttermilk instead of light cream and I nearly doubled the pecan brown sugar topping. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
Yummy! But watch the praline topping closely while broiling to avoid burning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
My husband thinks this is wonderful. You could probably cut the cream down to 1 cup. Before I added the cream I thought the flavor was good. The cream diluted the flavors, so I added more seasoning. Next time I won't add as much cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by grace

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
This pie tastes better if you make a few days ahead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by roseytheriveter

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Des Moines, Iowa, USA
Living In: Mechanicsville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2010
This was UNBELIEVABLE! I added bourbon to the topping the first time, and the second time I made it added dark rum to the topping. This is definitely going to become a turkey day staple!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Drusie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
This is delicious! It is sweet and creamy. FYI, I washed 4 large sweet potatoes, cut them in 3-4 chunks each, and baked them at 350 for about 30 minutes (I think) and then slipped the skins off. It was about right for the 2 cups. I also used half and half for the light cream, and I baked it in the "Spiced Pecan Crust" (recipe found here). I used finely chopped pecans for the topping, and it was very good--complementary to the texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Pie I

This is a satisfying Southern dessert that's perfect in fall and winter.

How to Make Sweet Potato Pie

Watch how to make classic sweet potato pie—it’s far easier than pumpkin.

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States