Sweet Potato Pecan Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2006
THIS IS SOOO GOOD. I can't stop eating it. I've never really liked pumpkin pie but this is 10 stars. I used baked yams (1-1/2 lbs = 2 medium size yams - perfect for 2 cups), cut back sugar in the pie to 1/2 cup (1/4 cup white, 1/4 cup brown) and 1/3 cup brown sugar in the topping. I also used pumpkin pie spice (1 teaspoon) and 1/2 teaspoon cinnamon. Yam mixture seemed very runny when I put it in the pie crust but cooked up nicely. Watch the topping carefully under the broiler - cooks quickly. The ''Butter Flaky Pie Crust" was easy and delicious too. This pie IS NOT low cal but it doesn't have corn syrup or sweetened condensed milk (YEAH). You could probably make it with Splenda, egg beaters and fat-free half & half and it would still be good. My compliments to Lorrie ... this pie will definitely be on my holiday table!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Orange, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2005
Very smooth and creamy. I did add a dash of vanilla extract and 1/4 tsp. nutmeg to the recipe. Absolutely wonderful. I used a deep pie crust though, and still found that I had a lot of mixture left over when finished.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2003
The pie filling was really good, Too much sugar for the pecan topping! I would make this agian with less sugar for the topping! This is a great pie for begginers really easy to follow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2004
Wonderful, my first ever attempt at a pie! The only mistake I made was when the recipe called for the sugar to be creamed together with the other ingred. I added the brown sugar to it... OOPS! Next time I won't put the brown sugar in the pie... I'll save it for the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2002
I no longer fix "regular" sweet potatoes in the casserole with marshmellows on top...this is the only way my family will eat them now... The best one I have found yet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2000
Great served warm, even keeps well and reheats for a couple of days. Our two year old loved it and that says a lot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2004
This is absolutely the BEST sweet potato pie I've ever had!!! I did reduce the brownsugar in the topping to 1/3 cup and it was just perfect. Everyone loved it at thanksgiving and is already requesting I bake it for Christmas too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by atomeve
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2006
YUMMY! This pie was absolutely delicious, and was a hit at Thanksgiving. I accidentally used half-and-half instead of light cream, but that worked out fine. I didn't find the sweet potato mix spicy enough, so I doubled the spices (more or less) and added a little nutmeg. The sweet potato mix came out to be FAR more than my 9 inch pie could handle, so I made a few small tarts to use up the extra. As someone else said, watch the sugar mixture on the top VERY carefully - mine was done in just under 2 minutes. I also tried to add whole pecan halves on the top, but they burned under the broiler - I would say if you are going to add "decorative" pecans, do it just after you pull the pie from the broiler, while the sugar is still soft.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2004
I took this to a "southern" style dinner and it was thoroughly enjoyed (especially the topping). While I would make it again, would try decreasing the filling sugar a bit. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2010
This was UNBELIEVABLE! I added bourbon to the topping the first time, and the second time I made it added dark rum to the topping. This is definitely going to become a turkey day staple!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Drusie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Pie I

This is a satisfying Southern dessert that's perfect in fall and winter.

How to Make Sweet Potato Pie

Watch how to make classic sweet potato pie—it’s far easier than pumpkin.

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States