Sweet Potato Pecan Pie by EAGLE BRAND® Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
Great recipe! I left out the orange. My husband (who doesnt normally eat sweets at all) ate over half! I blended up almost 2 cups of pecans, and so it was partially chopped and mostly ground up, I was worried it woud ruin the topping but it didnt and actually it prevented the runny and liquidy topping everyone mentioned. I aleady printed this out and put it in my recipes. I am going to try pumpkin puree next time just cuz I really like pumpkins and I bet that would be good too. Oh I also used a 9 oz pie shell and put egg whites around the edge and on the bottom and precooked the shell (about 5mns.) before putting in the mixture. This helps to prevent burning too early on the shell and it wont get gooey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lenora
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
I just made this pie and it is delicious. I did make a few variations though. (1) I used sweet potatoes, 1/2 stick of softened butter, 1/2 Tbsp nutmeg, 1 tsp vanilla extract, 1.5 cups of sugar, 3/4 can evaporated milk. (2) Whip hot potatoes and softened butter until thoroughly combined. (3) Add sugar, nutmeg, vanilla extract, eggs and milk. Beat until very smooth. (4) Bake in a 9 in. deep dish pie shell on 350 for 20 min. Take out oven and spoon pecan topping over pie, spooning around the edges of the pie FIRST. Surround the perimeter of the pie with pecan halves. Bake for an additional 30 minutes on 350.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lenora

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2012
I only used about 3/4 t orange zest, as others said 1 t was too much. It was the perfect amount in my opinion, as I like the zest. I followed the rest of the recipe exactly. After licking some of the batter off my fingers, I could hardly help from eating the whole thing before putting it into the oven. Two of my siblings told me I HAD to bring this to Thanksgiving this year. I will need to make two though because it went fast. Great fall recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2012
This is a terrific recipe with some of the small changes mentioned in other reviews. I left out the orange rind and used a 9" pastry pie shell. Also, the first time I made it there was too much liquid from the pecan topping which dripped over the sides. This time I used a slotted spoon and eliminated some of the excess pecan syrup. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
Great recipe! I was hesitant at first because I'm a loyal pumpkin pie fan, but this was different and delicious! It's like a tasty sweet potato pie center with a crunchy pecan pie crust. I too also left out the orange rind, and it still tasted great! The only thing I would change it using a 9 oz crust instead. I had extra filling and topping I couldn't use even though my 6 oz crust was totally full so 9 oz would have been perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2011
would def make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NITASHA1984

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2011
Delicious! So many compliments! Left out Orange Rind because I did not have any and it came out terrific!!!! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2011
this came out perfect, I didn't have maple flavoring so I just used a teaspoon of syrup. OH it was soooo good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHENA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2011
This was simple & delicious. I used a homemade graham cracker crust and spiced it up with some cinnamon, nutmeg, & allspice. I also added 1 tsp. of allspice & clove to the sweet potato mixture. I loved the orange peel...gave it great flavor. For the topping is subbed maple syrup for the corn syrup & maple flavoring, doubled the pecans, and used only 1 tblsp of brown sugar. Came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by deanna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
Leave out the orange zest and this would be a 5 Star Pie. The orange zest overpowers everything and you lose the taste of the sweet potatoes. The consistency and topping are excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Eagle Brand® Chocolate Truffles

See how to make these delicious, decadent sweet treats.

Easy Homemade Ice Cream

Cool off with quick-and-easy homemade ice cream—no ice cream maker required!

How to Make Sweet Potato Pie

Watch how to make classic sweet potato pie—it’s far easier than pumpkin.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States