Sweet Potato Pecan Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2007
So yummy! Definitely a comfort food delicacy in my book. I tried it two ways. Once with the seasoning the listed and another with 2 teaspoons of "McCormik's Pumpkin Pie Spice" (which includes: Cinnamon, Ginger, Nutmeg, and Allspice...if you like a lot of cinnamon then you have room to add more here. But they both came out fantastic. I served it up with Dulce de Leche ice cream and had everyone melting in their seats with each bite. My pie experts said it was a definite must have.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
80 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elmont, New York, USA
Living In: Port Washington, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2007
I fixed this for my parents and grandparents to see if I could fix Thanksgivings dessert!!! Sure enough it passed!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2008
Amazing pie! This was actually the first (of many) pies that I ever made, and I found it very easy to follow. It it also my favorite (so far). I did find that it was too much filling, causing it to overflow in my oven and create a "pie-saster," but it was salvaged and came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2009
I have been making this pie for years, at least five. My dad asked for it on Thanksgiving after eating a version of it in New Orleans. This is now the go-to pie for Thanksgiving, everyone's favorite for years, and is always gone quickly. My dad always asks for it on his birthday, too. My sister can't eat dairy, and keeps begging me to find a way to make it without dairy because it's her favorite and she cant eat it anymore. It's fantastic. I make this pie without the whipped cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2009
Need a Milk Substitute?: Try using Hemp milk, it has a wonderful nutty flavor that's a nice compliment to this pie :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suzie Homemaker's Daughter

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2009
I made for last holiday and its went quick... I need to make 3 of them ...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Akron, Ohio, USA
Living In: Wooster, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
Perfect amount of spices in this pie, and the sweet potatoes work well with the pecans. We didn't go out of our way to buy the hazelnut liqueur and it was still fantastic with just the whipped topping. I'll probably surprise my boyfriend with another one of these once Christmas arrives.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2000
Really tasty and rich. Makes for a good and easy holiday pie. However, I would recommend using a deep dish crust. We had too much filling to put into a regular crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
140 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2009
I used Splenda brown sugar and egg substitute. All I had on hand was fat free l/2 & l/2 rather than evaporated milk. Since there is no sugar free Karo that I know of, I used Karo syrup. Didn't use the topping of whipped cream and the pie was still simply scrumptious. So this is a great recipe for a diabetic diet or just simply watching cholesterol and fat count...that is if you make it as I did. The pecans really added a nice touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2004
EXCELLENT!!! THE RECEIPE RESULTS IN SLIGHTLY MORE FILLING THAN NEEDED FOR NINE INCH PREPACKAGED PIE CRUST.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Pie I

This is a satisfying Southern dessert that's perfect in fall and winter.

How to Make Sweet Potato Pie

Watch how to make classic sweet potato pie—it’s far easier than pumpkin.

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States