Sweet Potato Pecan Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2013
This pie is wonderful! I rarely give a five star rating but this recipe has got it! It's easy, beautiful, and delicious...what more can you ask for? I don't change a thing about the pie, however, I have never had the opportunity to do the whipped cream with the hazelnut liquor. I'm too cheap to buy the whole bottle of hazelnut for the small amount required in this recipe. It's a shame because I'm sure it's wonderful, but the pie is five star without it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by beanmachine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2013
Really good. Tasted exactly like it sounds... half sweet potato half pecan pie. Kind of odd, but good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by elenaj

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
Definitely a very creative pie that combines two thanksgiving classics however I would cut the chopped pecans in the future and use a deeper dish. Make sure the sweet potatoes are completely pureed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2012
This is a great recipe. We increased the sweet potatoes to 1 1/2 and omitted the nutmeg (we don't care of the taste). This is a Thanksgiving must at our house. This will be the 3rd year to make! Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2012
Just tried it today because my husband and I have never tasted a sweet potato pie of any sort and it sounded interesting. I'd have to give it 5 stars! Great flavor, lighter in texture than pumpkin pie, good crunch from the pecans, and best of all, each wedge of pie came out "whole", not a bit drippy. That makes for a pretty presentation with the whipped cream. I was out of evaporated milk, so used heavy cream instead. No problem!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lady Lake, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
Perfect combo of two holiday classics! Definitely a winner, there wasn't a crumb left!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
It was good, but not outstanding. I made this pie and a regular pecan pie at Thanksgiving and everyone preferred the traditional pecan. I had no trouble with the recipe being too much filling for my pie plate, but it was a full sized plate and not a disposable aluminum one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2011
I doubled this recipe and had enough filling for two pies and eight little "pie-ettes" which I made with a store bought crust cut into circles and lined in muffin tins. I got 8 little ones. Cute and good, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anniston, Alabama, USA
Living In: Arnoldsville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2011
Delicious pie and super easy to make! I estimated the ingredients to 1.5 times to fill 2 regular 9" pie shells and it worked out well. Other than that, I kept everything the same. Everyone on my project team loved it! Will be making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2011
This tastes better than pumpkin pie. It is creamier and less runny. Perfect balance of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elma, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Pie I

This is a satisfying Southern dessert that's perfect in fall and winter.

How to Make Sweet Potato Pie

Watch how to make classic sweet potato pie—it’s far easier than pumpkin.

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States