Sweet Potato Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
This recipe will work. It was delicious, but I made a lot of modifications (hence 4 stars). My husband did not even use syrup they were so good! First, I substituted 1 1/2 c whole wheat flour + 1/2 cup wheat bran for the oats. Second, I used 1 heaping c leftover sweet potato casserole instead of the plain sweat potato. Third, to combat the thickness of the batter, I used an extra half cup of vanilla yogurt and thinned it a little more with some leftover apple cider. I'm sure apple juice, milk, or water would work fine. The final consistency was similar to traditional pancakes and they cooked fine. For more flavor, double the cinnamon, add a pinch of nutmeg, and try some chopped nuts and raisins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2004
I loved this recipe, but more importantly, my kids loved it! I used vanilla yogurt instead of plain, and it was really yummy. I'm thinking of sneaking other "secret"ingredients in...spinach, anyone???
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2008
Mine were really terrific!! I was glad I had read some of the previous reviews and and I think I manage to avoid some of the problems. I (accidentally) added a tsp. baking powder. I did use oil (although Canola, not Olive). I did not use molasses but used 2 tsp. Splenda. Also, my batter sat in the fridge for several hours before cooking. It was insanely thick, but cooked through easily. It satisfied my need for a no flour/no sugar pancake and my kids had something they could put syrup on. Only four stars just beacuse of the modifications, otherwise it would have been five. They were delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2009
I enjoyed these hearty, flavorful pancakes! Without a leavening agent, it was hard to tell when they were ready to flip! Even when they crumbled because I flipped them early, they were wonderful! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2005
These are incredible!!! Try adding dried cranberries, 1/2 tsp of fresh grated nutmeg and vanilla yogurt (subst. for plain).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2009
The yogurt makes the pancakes very heavy. They do not turn out light and fluffy like a pancake should be. The original recipe was extremely thick, and even after thinning it out according to some of the suggestions, I still had trouble getting the "pancakes" to cook all of the way through. You may also want to add some more seasonings, as they end up tasting quite bland if you don't use syrup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2008
2 stars because they definitely need some work. The consistency is very thick and does not cook in the middle easily. The flavor still needs a bit of something to give it a little kick. I will update if I find the right somethings to change/add.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2008
I tried to like these, I really did. I baked the pancakes for 10 minutes at 350*F after frying, to be sure they were cooked through. Overall, they were okay, but it really isn't a secret what they're made of. Too much work for what ended up tasting exactly like sweet potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by A. Cole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Paradise Hill, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2007
These had great flavor, but I agree with the reviewer who said they never really seemed to cook through. Still good, but the final consistency was more french toast than pancake. I might try baking the leftovers on low heat to see if they set better that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2010
Delicious recipe. I didn't follow all measurements exactly, but they came out well! I didn't blend the oats and liked their thickness in the mix a bit better. I used Agave instead of Molasses, and I also added cinnamon. If you don't want to add a sweetner use vanilla yogurt or a flavor of your choice. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portsmouth, New Hampshire, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Instant Potato Pancakes

See a time-saving tip for making potato pancakes from instant mashed potatoes.

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

German Potato Pancakes

See how to make real German-style potato pancakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States