Sweet Potato Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2004
I loved this recipe, but more importantly, my kids loved it! I used vanilla yogurt instead of plain, and it was really yummy. I'm thinking of sneaking other "secret"ingredients in...spinach, anyone???
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2004
I would not make these again...even with modification. (I did't use the oil or molasses since they were optional.) My older kids didn't even like the look of them, my husband though they were just "edible," and I thought they didn't cook through to the middle even though the outsides were browned. The only reason I gave it two stars instead of one, is that my baby gobbled up two of them for breakfast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2005
These are incredible!!! Try adding dried cranberries, 1/2 tsp of fresh grated nutmeg and vanilla yogurt (subst. for plain).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2006
I don't know what happend with this recipe. It may be that sweet potatoes here in Germany are different than what is available in the U.S.. Anyway, these things were impossible to lift from the pan, and they never really seemed to be cooked on the inside. The taste was good, but the hassle was not worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emsdettener Koch

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Emsdetten, Nordrhein-Westfalen, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2007
These had great flavor, but I agree with the reviewer who said they never really seemed to cook through. Still good, but the final consistency was more french toast than pancake. I might try baking the leftovers on low heat to see if they set better that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2008
I don't know what happened with these. They were so bad I had to come back and check others' reviews--"Did this recipe really work for someone?" Apparently it did, but not for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2008
I tried to like these, I really did. I baked the pancakes for 10 minutes at 350*F after frying, to be sure they were cooked through. Overall, they were okay, but it really isn't a secret what they're made of. Too much work for what ended up tasting exactly like sweet potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by A. Cole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Paradise Hill, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2008
Mine were really terrific!! I was glad I had read some of the previous reviews and and I think I manage to avoid some of the problems. I (accidentally) added a tsp. baking powder. I did use oil (although Canola, not Olive). I did not use molasses but used 2 tsp. Splenda. Also, my batter sat in the fridge for several hours before cooking. It was insanely thick, but cooked through easily. It satisfied my need for a no flour/no sugar pancake and my kids had something they could put syrup on. Only four stars just beacuse of the modifications, otherwise it would have been five. They were delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2008
I was really excited for these, but was dissapointed in the end. I didn't think that they had much taste to them. I did omit the molases, so that may have been the key ingredient. I gave 3 stars b/c although i didn't like them, my boyfriend said he would eat them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crossfitgirl

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Rural Retreat, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2008
2 stars because they definitely need some work. The consistency is very thick and does not cook in the middle easily. The flavor still needs a bit of something to give it a little kick. I will update if I find the right somethings to change/add.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Instant Potato Pancakes

See a time-saving tip for making potato pancakes from instant mashed potatoes.

German Potato Pancakes

See how to make real German-style potato pancakes.

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States