Sweet-Potato Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2003
DEELISH!!!!! Noah, age 4, who hates any kind of potato there is, ate three of these nutrition packed muffins in a matter of minutes.(I'm gonna have to start packing squash this way too :-)I did have to add a little milk but I likely had too much flower. Someone previously commented on the aroma!!!!!!!! OH MY........We don't need Yankee Candles anymore. Just make these babies. Oh, I also hate walnuts so left those out. Thank you Jen for sharing your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2002
I made these for my sons, ages 3 and 2, and they loved them! I didn't find them heavy at all. One large sweet potato provided the 4 cups, and shredding them was made easier with my food processor. Excellent recipe that I will use many more times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2006
This is a great recipe! I skinned and boiled the sweet potatoes until they were soft.. then chopped them and put them in the blender until smooth. I used whole wheat flour as oppossed to white flour, did not you the allspice and added about half a teaspoon more of both cinnamon and nutmeg and cut down on the sugar. Came out delicious. Baking time for more like 40-45 minutes than 30.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
87 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2003
This is a FABULOUS recipe! I have been looking for a sweet potato muffin recipe for a long time. The ONLY changes I made were to use Golden raisins (soaked in hot water first), dark brown sugar, and to add bigger chunks of sweet potato at the end. I used the 4 cups of shredded potato, but when I was putting the batter in the pan, I added a few chopped pieces of blanched sweet potato to each muffin. The chunks are tatsty and a nioce reminder of what is in the muffin. The shredded pieces all but disappear!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kherder330

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Staples, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Duluth, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2005
Amazing! I wasn't too sure what to expect and I was a bit skeptical when I was mixing the egg mixture witht he flour mixture. I was pleasantly surprised! These muffins are wonderful. My new favourite! Simply delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PUNKYBJ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2004
A friend of ours generally will not eat anything made with sweet potatoes. He thought that we were attempting to keep the "banana nut muffins" away from him. After eating several muffins, he still refuses to believe that these muffins have sweet potatoes as the main ingredient. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Galena Park, Texas, USA
Living In: Lott, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2004
My family loved these! I used leftover pureed sweet potatoes and omitted the allspice and nuts. In the end I added a little milk to moisten up the batter. They raised perfectly and smelled like heaven while baking. The taste was just as pleasing. Will make again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2004
Well, I had some leftover white and sweet potatoes and this seemed like a good use for them. I followed the recipe fairly closely, however, I always try to make a recipe a bit healthier. Therefore, in place of one of the cups of flour, I used 1 1/2 cups flax flour I concocted in my coffee grinder. I also changed the focus a bit, substituting the nutmeg, allspice, cinnamon, raisins and walnuts for 1 cup coconut and 1/2 cup chocolate chips. Kids like chocolate, don't you know. Thanks for sharing this great recipe. Amy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2004
Yum! Finally a way to get my kids to eat sweet potatoes! I left out the nuts, added some milk and cooked them for 15 extra minutes, they were perfect and my kids think they are cupcakes :) Surprisingly sweet and taste great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2006
they were hearty and good. Very filling. These would be good to take cross country skiing or on a hike.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Linn, Oregon, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Zucchini Yogurt Multigrain Muffins

These healthy muffins are packed with carrots, zucchini, nuts, and raisins.

Chocolate Chip Muffins

Watch how to make chocolaty muffins kids love.

Easy Pumpkin Muffins

These muffins are moist and tasty, and freeze well.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States